need to purchase new photography editing software, which one?
Post ReplyPost New TopicPosted 10/5/2012 by PinkIsMyFavColor in NSBR Board
 

PinkIsMyFavColor
Loving Life

PeaNut 227,373
October 2005
Posts: 8,654
Layouts: 71
Loc: Utah

Posted: 10/5/2012 1:25:48 PM
I switched to mac from pc a few months ago. I'm trying to get accustomed to the differences, but need some help with this decision.

I used photoshop & smart photo editor on my pc. Smart photo editor doesn't have a mac version, so I'm going to lose that. I'm debating between photoshop & lightroom, and just wondering if anyone has used LR4 and opinions on it? (Price is not a factor, fyi, just photo editing)

thanks!



voltagain
OklaPhoma

PeaNut 18,334
July 2001
Posts: 37,606
Layouts: 15
Loc: State of cultural confusion. Yeehaw and Aloha have collided!

Posted: 10/5/2012 1:29:34 PM
what kinds of activities do you want to do with your editor?
Light room is great if your editing desires ae pretty basic (crop, color adjustment) If you want advanced editing you'll want to do with ps.


What Your Kit Lens Can Do For You

Canon 60d, Canon 24-70mm 2.8L, Canon 70-200mm 2.8L, 50mm 1.8, 28-80, 75-300mm and Tamron 90mm 2.8 macro

ltllea23
Montana Sweet Pea

PeaNut 142,421
April 2004
Posts: 8,540
Layouts: 1,004
Loc: Fargo, ND

Posted: 10/5/2012 1:34:56 PM
I would suggest Lightroom. Not only does it provide photo editing, but it is a great cataloging system for your images and makes organizing super easy.

I can do the majority of my photo editing in Lightroom, and it has more than just basic editing. Basically- you don't have the layers/masking function that Photoshop has, and that is where you are limited in Lightroom. If that is something that you just have to have...then I would actually purchase both. I have and use both together. I do the majority of my editing in Lightroom, so everything is cataloged, etc. If I need to use Photoshop, I open the image in PS FROM Lightroom...that way it will save the .psd file in the same Lightroom catalog and I won't have to upload the image again into LR. Hopefully this isn't all gibberish to you...tee hee! Let me know if you have any questions.



PinkIsMyFavColor
Loving Life

PeaNut 227,373
October 2005
Posts: 8,654
Layouts: 71
Loc: Utah

Posted: 10/5/2012 1:36:12 PM
I used ps fairly extensively. Lots of actions and photo editing. I hear lots of chatter about LR so I thought I should check into it before I buy something for the mac.



PinkIsMyFavColor
Loving Life

PeaNut 227,373
October 2005
Posts: 8,654
Layouts: 71
Loc: Utah

Posted: 10/5/2012 1:40:33 PM
Thank you, Lea. I didn't see your post before my answer.

No, it's not gibberish. I'm familiar with that work process. I have been fairly reliant on ps, but thought I'd review options since I need to make a new purchase for a mac version anyway. Thought I'd throw it out there and see what people think.

I'm really mac deficient. lol So maybe there are other options out there that I am unaware of?



ltllea23
Montana Sweet Pea

PeaNut 142,421
April 2004
Posts: 8,540
Layouts: 1,004
Loc: Fargo, ND

Posted: 10/5/2012 1:41:10 PM
If you are partial to actions...then you will really want to have Photoshop. Although, you can get really great Presets for LR...you won't be able to use your actions in it.

I would still suggest both. LR really isn't all that expensive, and it is worth it alone for the cataloging/organizing capability.



ltllea23
Montana Sweet Pea

PeaNut 142,421
April 2004
Posts: 8,540
Layouts: 1,004
Loc: Fargo, ND

Posted: 10/5/2012 1:46:25 PM
There is an editing software out there for Macs, but I don't know anything about it as I am not a Mac user. The photography school I attended suggested LR & PS for both PC & Mac users...and since that is what I was educated on and it really fits for me, I have had no reason to look at other options. I can't say enough about using them together...it has revolutionized my workflow.



PinkIsMyFavColor
Loving Life

PeaNut 227,373
October 2005
Posts: 8,654
Layouts: 71
Loc: Utah

Posted: 10/5/2012 1:50:54 PM
I'm open to purchasing both. But I do have questions, since you are willing.

Are presets similar to actions?

One of the features that appeals to me about LR is the non destructive editing module, that would be nice.




needmysanity
AncestralPea

PeaNut 380,372
June 2008
Posts: 4,669
Layouts: 3
Loc: Central California

Posted: 10/5/2012 2:45:19 PM
LR is a great program. The Presets are simliar to actions but I think easier to use and tweek. Plus you can find a ton of free presets online which is nice.

I use LR about 90% of the time and PS the other 10.


~Steph~

Mom, wife, CASA advocate, baseball fanatic and wine drinker

Blogging my way through life at Meandering Steph






voltagain
OklaPhoma

PeaNut 18,334
July 2001
Posts: 37,606
Layouts: 15
Loc: State of cultural confusion. Yeehaw and Aloha have collided!

Posted: 10/5/2012 2:54:41 PM
LR presets are very much like actions. As long as you aren't into using layers and masks you'll find LR editing tools fine. My definition of "basic" editing is almost anything that can be done without using layers. Layer usage is advanced editing.


What Your Kit Lens Can Do For You

Canon 60d, Canon 24-70mm 2.8L, Canon 70-200mm 2.8L, 50mm 1.8, 28-80, 75-300mm and Tamron 90mm 2.8 macro

ltllea23
Montana Sweet Pea

PeaNut 142,421
April 2004
Posts: 8,540
Layouts: 1,004
Loc: Fargo, ND

Posted: 10/5/2012 2:58:06 PM
The other gals answered your question...but yes. Presets are a lot like actions, just no layers. The non-destructive editing is a really awesome part about LR too...I totally forgot to mention that earlier on!!!



Gennifer
Biting my tongue.

PeaNut 79,412
April 2003
Posts: 5,988
Layouts: 280
Loc: Utah

Posted: 10/5/2012 3:04:46 PM
Erin, why not download LR for 30 days, and try it out for yourself? Then you can compare it to what you're already familiar with.

But, I have to put a plug in for the ever-so-awesome RadLab. I was convinced I needed LR, and since I got RadLab I don't even think about it. In fact, I have had a trial disk on my desk for about a year, and haven't even installed it! I talked about it more extensively in this thread if you're interested.

Then again, I only process photos as I scrap with them, so I'm not doing big batches at a time.



PinkIsMyFavColor
Loving Life

PeaNut 227,373
October 2005
Posts: 8,654
Layouts: 71
Loc: Utah

Posted: 10/5/2012 3:04:46 PM
Perfect! I think it will work just fine for me. I do layers, but not that often, so I'll buy LR for now, and get PS down the road.

thanks!



PinkIsMyFavColor
Loving Life

PeaNut 227,373
October 2005
Posts: 8,654
Layouts: 71
Loc: Utah

Posted: 10/5/2012 3:08:41 PM
Oh, man, I forgot about Radlab Glo!!! Thanks for reminding me. I hadn't pulled the trigger on that one because I went out of town for a few weeks and planned to check it out.

I'm off to read the post/link. Thank you!



dynalady
My soul is fed with needle and thread

PeaNut 25,620
December 2001
Posts: 20,250
Layouts: 49
Loc: Sweet Home Chicago

Posted: 10/5/2012 3:11:06 PM
I think, but I'm not positive, that as long as you are a registered owner of Photoshop for PC you can either transfer that to the Mac version or get some kind of discount. I haven't done it, but I remember something about it. You might want to contact Adobe before you do anything else and check on that, and also on what professional suite pkgs. might give you all you want in one purchase. Or at least ask on Adobe forums.







"I contend we are both atheists. I just believe in one fewer god than you do. When you understand why you dismiss all the other possible gods, you will understand why I dismiss yours." Stephen Roberts




Gennifer
Biting my tongue.

PeaNut 79,412
April 2003
Posts: 5,988
Layouts: 280
Loc: Utah

Posted: 10/5/2012 3:11:07 PM

Oh, man, I forgot about Radlab Glo!!!
I thought my days of being called my sisters' names were behind me. And online, no less!



Gennifer
Biting my tongue.

PeaNut 79,412
April 2003
Posts: 5,988
Layouts: 280
Loc: Utah

Posted: 10/5/2012 3:12:36 PM
Dynalady is correct. If you have just the regular version of PS you should be able to change the platform for free. They wouldn't let me do it with my MC, but I think that's because it's the big suite.



PhotoHorse
PeaFixture

PeaNut 66,309
February 2003
Posts: 3,582
Layouts: 13
Loc: Central Iowa

Posted: 10/5/2012 3:13:52 PM
Photoshop Elements has a free, 30-day download trial.

I just made a photo book (actually 36 12x12 pages that I uploaded to another site) using PSE11. It is better than the 2005 version of Photoshop that I had been using. The pages took me an enormous amount of time, but it would have been much worse without PSE. It's a great program for $119.

PinkIsMyFavColor
Loving Life

PeaNut 227,373
October 2005
Posts: 8,654
Layouts: 71
Loc: Utah

Posted: 10/5/2012 3:25:26 PM
Do I need PS with Radlab?



Gennifer
Biting my tongue.

PeaNut 79,412
April 2003
Posts: 5,988
Layouts: 280
Loc: Utah

Posted: 10/5/2012 3:28:42 PM
It is a plugin for PS and PSE.


Post Reply . Post New TopicShow/Hide Icons . Show/Hide Signatures
Hide
{{ title }}
{{ icon }}
{{ body }}
{{ footer }}