Original Silhouette vs Cameo

Two Peas is Closing
Click here to visit our final product sale. Click here to visit our FAQ page regarding the closing of Two Peas.

Posted 1/27/2013 by SheWhoPeasAlot in General Scrappin'
 

SheWhoPeasAlot
PeaAddict

PeaNut 29,183
February 2002
Posts: 1,888
Layouts: 0
Loc: Washington

Posted: 1/27/2013 12:28:31 PM
What is the difference?? Other than the 12 inch size on Cameo...


Kimber

susank12
PEAlicious

PeaNut 453,004
January 2010
Posts: 383
Layouts: 42

Posted: 1/27/2013 1:43:30 PM
Basically the size is the difference. It uses the same software and works basically the same. Loading the paper is different, on the original you have to manually turn a knob on the side of the machine whereas the cameo has a push button control button. There is no way to stop the original once it starts cutting and the cameo has a pause button with the option of stopping the project. So far those are the differences I have found. I had the original Silhouette ( it sits housed in my closet waiting for me to sell it) and once I quit being intimidated by it found it a wonderful tool. My Silhouette has only got about 6 months of actual running time on it but it is 7 or so years old. Hope that helps!


I'm an old pea with a forgetful memory (can't remember old login info)....please cut me some slack LOL!!!

outsidechic
PeaNut

PeaNut 329,392
July 2007
Posts: 222
Layouts: 23
Loc: San Diego

Posted: 1/27/2013 2:18:12 PM
the print and cut feature. I have an original and sometimes I think the print and cut feature would be awesome ... but not $300 worth. I use mine all the time.


Jakki
"In my world every book will have pictures"
-Alice in Wonderland
My First Love!
My Blog

mookie19
PeaAddict

PeaNut 7,774
November 2000
Posts: 1,663
Layouts: 23
Loc: Midwest

Posted: 1/27/2013 2:25:08 PM
I only have the original silhouette so I can't tell you the difference. I am really starting to use it more. I would rather spend money on something I don't already have. Just my 2cents.

spokanemom
PeaNut

PeaNut 361,162
February 2008
Posts: 212
Layouts: 25

Posted: 1/27/2013 2:55:50 PM
Outsidechic; just wondering...

I have an original Sil and use print and cut. I design in the software and have my image print to my printer and then load to my Sil to cut. Is there something else you are meaning?
Uploaded with iPhone client

Anibear
BucketHead

PeaNut 325,370
July 2007
Posts: 570
Layouts: 0
Loc: Montreal, Canada

Posted: 1/27/2013 3:01:07 PM
I use the print and cut on the Original but it doesn't work consistently for me.....maybe 1 out 10 tries. The optical eye isn't as a good as on the SD or the cameo. Maybe that's what "outsidechic" is referring to. But I don't use the feature much anyway.

I would only upgrade to the Cameo for the cutting size (12x12)
Show/Hide Icons . Show/Hide Signatures
Hide
{{ title }}
{{ icon }}
{{ body }}
{{ footer }}