My Portrait Came Today-I'm Underwhelmed

Two Peas is Closing
Click here to visit our final product sale. Click here to visit our FAQ page regarding the closing of Two Peas.

Posted 4/26/2013 by tinaev in General Scrappin'
 

tinaev
PeaFixture

PeaNut 370,270
April 2008
Posts: 3,076
Layouts: 22

Posted: 4/26/2013 1:39:23 AM
My Cricut with SCAL was sooooooooooooooo much easier to use.

Mainly I'm having issues with the rollers. They roll right over the sticky part of the mat. That doesn't make sense and it doesn't allow you to use the full 8" of mat space. I also notice that where I place things in the software doesn't really correspond to where it actually cuts. For example, I lined a star up on the mat in the software with about 1/2" of room on the top of the mat. The actual cut went off the paper and into the plastic of the mat on top.

Can anyone help me out? I've been Googling, but I can't really come up with anything helpful.

PennyPaws
StuckOnPeas

PeaNut 551,978
April 2012
Posts: 2,099
Layouts: 79
Loc: Canada

Posted: 4/26/2013 2:06:44 AM
I'm not sure how much help I can be, but I had a learning curve the first few times I used it so I feel your pain

I have the older Silhouette, the SC, so it's the 8 x 11 size too... With the mats, there are two strips of that protective, green, wax like paper along each of the long edges - don't take that off... Take off only the large middle piece of the protective wax paper stuff... The rollers will roll along top of those... (My model has two smaller/thinner black rollers that are more in the middle but there's not problem with those running over the mat... Not sure if the Portrait has that, but if it does - don't worry about those...)

The lining up thing can be tricky... There is a setting in the software that lets you 'see' where the cutting mat is... If you go to the Page button (top right, red square inside a black square) and click on that, you'll get a menu that lets you Reveal Cutting Mat - it's a slider, and you can go from 0-100%... After I've got my cuts the size I want them, I go and make the the Reveal Cutting Mat percentage around 70 or 80%... You can see the mat with the measurements on it, and see the 'page' where you arranged all your cuts... I make sure that all my cuts are inside the measurement lines on the mat, and not just that they are on the 'page'... There's also a lighter boarder around the 'page' - I make sure to keep my cuts inside that as well...

When I feed the mat into my machine I always line it up with an outer mark that's on the machine... I figured it out just by trial - I lined up the mat once against one mark, then against another... When I figured out which one placed the cuts I laid out in the software in the same places on the actual mat when I cut, I put a little dot there... Not sure what the Portrait looks like, by maybe something like that would for you...

I don't know enough to talk about any calibration that you might be able to do, but so many Peas have Silhouettes that someone will be able to help you if that's something you think is needed...

It sounds/feels finicky at first, but once you figure out the this edge in the software lines up with this edge on the mat, the rest is easy and fun

tinaev
PeaFixture

PeaNut 370,270
April 2008
Posts: 3,076
Layouts: 22

Posted: 4/26/2013 9:57:41 AM
Penny, thank you for taking the time to help!

I kept reading online about the two strips on the sides of the mat. Mine did not come with strips on the sides. Both of them just have one large center blue paper. That's it, you just peel it off and are left with the whole mat's sticky exposed. I got the mat that came with the machine and bought another. They're exactly the same.

I also did use the reveal mat feature because I'm so used to seeing the mat grid lines in SCAL so it was easy to line everything up with smaller pieces of paper because you knew exactly where the machine would cut. This wasn't the case with the Portrait. I would line everything up using the grid lines (allowing extra space on all sides) and somehow the machine just kept cutting my design mostly in the right spot, but it would run out of paper and wind up cutting just on the mat plastic. It's hard for me to explain so hopefully that makes sense.

If anyone else could offer some help I'd appreciate it.

ScrappyJac
BucketHead

PeaNut 433,506
August 2009
Posts: 918
Layouts: 8

Posted: 4/26/2013 9:59:52 AM
I have the Silhouette SD, so my settings may be a little different. Here are two things you can check:
1. Make sure the screen on the machine says "load cutting mat" not "load media"
2. Make sure you have the correct cutting mat size chosen in the software and use the "reveal cutting" mat to double check placement of the items

I thought my machine was broken when it suddently started cutting in the wrong spot - and I ruined a few sheets of paper. Then, I realized that I must have bumped the settings accidently and had selected "load media".

tinaev
PeaFixture

PeaNut 370,270
April 2008
Posts: 3,076
Layouts: 22

Posted: 4/26/2013 10:31:07 AM
Oh I think that might be where I'm going wrong! There's no screen on the Portrait, but I have been pushing the "load media" button. I'm off to work but I can't wait to come home and try again!

I suppose if that works I can just put washi tape down the sides where the rollers are hitting. Yay, hopefully that works!

acreativechristian
PeaNut

PeaNut 570,629
October 2012
Posts: 216
Layouts: 0
Loc: Sweet Home Alabama

Posted: 4/26/2013 11:47:38 AM
I was just about to say the same thing about load mat rahter than load media. I am a newbie to Cameo. I learned that by watching yolibean's yt videos. Hope that works for you.


be Creative and be Blessed!

bethkk
BucketHead

PeaNut 147,571
May 2004
Posts: 711
Layouts: 9
Loc: Indiana

Posted: 4/26/2013 2:17:39 PM
As far as the rollers are concerned...this is a little hard to explain but I'll try. And I only have the Cameo, so things may be different on the Portrait. On the silver bar that the rollers are on, there are several "notches". Make sure, if you are using your cutting mat, that the rollers are placed in the notches farthest from the center. I'm not sure the Portrait has the different notches like the Cameo, but it sounds like the white rollers aren't all the way to the outside edges of the mat. The Cameo has a release lever that allows the silver bar to lift and you can adjust the rollers.

Hope this helps!


Beth

I'd like to teach the world to sing...in perfect harmony!

Musings of an Attic Scrapper


lauraydrumm
PeaNut

PeaNut 575,138
December 2012
Posts: 428
Layouts: 0
Loc: NEW ORLEANS, LA

Posted: 4/26/2013 2:35:24 PM
I have a Cameo so I'm not sure it's the same but did you change the paper to the correct size in the design software?


Laura D
Uploaded with iPhone client

gutspiel
StuckOnPeas

PeaNut 76,314
March 2003
Posts: 2,223
Layouts: 325
Loc: near a school

Posted: 4/26/2013 2:37:36 PM
I'm heading to a class right now with Joann Sharpe, I'll come back to help you later. I have a portrait and it does not match the cameo/sd rollers/tracks/notches and so on,


Stacey S_O

irishscrappermom8
Ancient Ancestor of Pea

PeaNut 220,508
August 2005
Posts: 5,593
Layouts: 54
Loc: IL

Posted: 4/26/2013 2:37:59 PM
Definitely check the settings and choose load paper and the paper size in the silhouette settings.

Once you getting going you will love it.




Uploaded with iPhone client

peasacake
PeaNut

PeaNut 385,172
July 2008
Posts: 381
Layouts: 16
Loc: Kansas

Posted: 4/26/2013 2:41:51 PM
You have to use the guide on the far left side to load your mat. On the cameo, I wanted to use the one with the deeper groove, but I needed to use the one past that. I think you just need to move your mat farther over.
Also, if that isn't the case, the white pastic rollers can be moves. you squeeze and turn, and then you can move them to line up with you mat.
I had to watch a youtube video on loading my cutting mat. I consider myself pretty techie and had a cricut, and this was not quite so user friendly out of the box.


Kim
Book Blogger of Romance at www.chapterbreak.com
Goodreads reviewer; friend me over there: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/2423360-chapter-break-by-kim-brown

gutspiel
StuckOnPeas

PeaNut 76,314
March 2003
Posts: 2,223
Layouts: 325
Loc: near a school

Posted: 4/26/2013 8:46:46 PM
Yep Peasacake said what i was going to say. look to the left for 3 lines separate from the grid lines on the machine. You'll notice the 1/4" mark on the machine & mat line up when its loaded. Took me a few times to figure out the alignment.


Stacey S_O

tinaev
PeaFixture

PeaNut 370,270
April 2008
Posts: 3,076
Layouts: 22

Posted: 4/26/2013 10:01:28 PM
I still can't figure out the roller part. They don't want to move and I guess I am just not getting how to line it up correctly. I'm also really surprised this isn't covered anywhere in the manual! I will try to take a picture...

Thank you all so much for the help.

peasacake
PeaNut

PeaNut 385,172
July 2008
Posts: 381
Layouts: 16
Loc: Kansas

Posted: 4/26/2013 10:19:34 PM
I know! I'm surprised how to load the blade correctly isn't in there too. Go to youtube and good how to load silhouette mat. There is one on there that I watched. It isn't to clear even after that. I still had problems. It really isn't easy to load even now that I know how. It feels foreign since it doesn't butt up against something.


Kim
Book Blogger of Romance at www.chapterbreak.com
Goodreads reviewer; friend me over there: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/2423360-chapter-break-by-kim-brown

tinaev
PeaFixture

PeaNut 370,270
April 2008
Posts: 3,076
Layouts: 22

Posted: 4/27/2013 1:50:44 PM
Hmm... well I've searched youtube extensively and there are very few search results that come up with the Portrait. Everything is for the Cameo. The videos from Silhouette America that show the mat being loaded show the rollers going right over the paper on the sticky part of the mat. So maybe that's just how it is? I didn't like what it did to my mat so I've just masked it off with Washi tape for now. Maybe I'll shoot an email off to Silhouette and see what they have to say.

Basket1lady
AncestralPea

PeaNut 465,906
April 2010
Posts: 4,602
Layouts: 0
Loc: Northern Virginia

Posted: 4/27/2013 2:43:56 PM
I have the Cameo and there is more than a small learning curve. But when I figure it out, it's all smiles! I've been using it for our school musical, High School Musical Jr. I found the HSM o
Font online and have used it a ton, along with clip art for the cast board, shout outs, banners, etc.

I've made a huge wildcat out of clip art I found online. I've learned how to trace, outline, offset, copy and paste, etc just from using this thing from a play. DD moves onto HS next year, so another mom bought a Cameo to replace me. It's just amazing what you can create.


Michelle
Uploaded with iPhone client
Show/Hide Icons . Show/Hide Signatures
Hide
{{ title }}
{{ icon }}
{{ body }}
{{ footer }}