Fiskars Surecut trimmers :(

Two Peas is Closing
Click here to visit our final product sale. Click here to visit our FAQ page regarding the closing of Two Peas.

Posted 6/15/2013 by CoastalScrapper in General Scrappin'
 

CoastalScrapper
PeaNut

PeaNut 576,527
January 2013
Posts: 136
Layouts: 0

Posted: 6/15/2013 7:44:46 AM
Anyone else have troubles with these trimmers with the wire guides? I'm on my second one now and the wire keeps fraying and the blade tears up my paper. I'm wondering why they come so highly recommended. The first time I exchanged it at the store. Now I guess I have to go back to Fiskars . Just wondered about others experience with this product?
Uploaded with iPhone client

CaribbeanGirl
AncestralPea

PeaNut 559,480
July 2012
Posts: 4,259
Layouts: 88
Loc: Hogwarts

Posted: 6/15/2013 8:35:56 AM
I love mine. I haven't had any trouble at all.


"I solemnly swear that I am up to no good" - Harry Potter
Uploaded with iPhone client

Rhonda in TX
BucketHead

PeaNut 339,706
September 2007
Posts: 775
Layouts: 18
Loc: Houston, TX

Posted: 6/15/2013 8:36:38 AM
I've had mine for a couple of years and no sign of the wire fraying. I've changed my blade a few times, but that's an item that wears out and needs to be replaced. I'm going to try the titanium blade next time. I've heard they last a really long time.

The wire fraying, though, is something I've never heard of.


Been scrappin' for 15 years
Homeschool mom of 2 - DS (16) and DD (15)

mamatobabyA
BucketHead

PeaNut 475,563
July 2010
Posts: 915
Layouts: 0
Loc: Ohio

Posted: 6/15/2013 9:11:51 AM
My mom had some trouble with fraying. She send Fiskars an email and they sent a new wire. It has worked perfectly the last year or so since.



Momo4
BucketHead

PeaNut 433,880
August 2009
Posts: 565
Layouts: 0
Loc: NW Ohio

Posted: 6/15/2013 9:13:56 AM
Never had my wire fray at all and I use it a bunch. I have had to replace the blade, but like someone else said, that is going to happen with this type of cutter.


Patty

Stash Dash count, goal of 50 layouts by NSD.
38/50 done!
Uploaded with iPhone client

lizakay
PeaNut

PeaNut 85,397
May 2003
Posts: 34
Layouts: 0
Loc: Indiana

Posted: 6/15/2013 9:29:18 AM
I have had mine for several years and had no problem. However, my friend has had the fraying problem twice.

chrispeas
Ancient Ancestor of Pea

PeaNut 252,090
March 2006
Posts: 9,422
Layouts: 8
Loc: Beautiful South Orange County, CA

Posted: 6/15/2013 9:58:35 AM
I have one and have never had a problem with the wire fraying. I still get nervous when the blade sometimes glides against the wire. I keep thinking that it will eventually ruin it. Good to know I can get another one from Fiskars if I need it.








leslie_scraps
PeaNut

PeaNut 512,812
June 2011
Posts: 240
Layouts: 0

Posted: 6/15/2013 5:02:44 PM
I've had two fray on me as well.

chelsp82
PeaNut

PeaNut 585,800
April 2013
Posts: 199
Layouts: 65

Posted: 6/15/2013 5:43:36 PM
Yes, the first I had to throw away, stopped cutting straight. This one the blade suddenly starts ripping, even if it is fairly new. Also the blade always falls off!

mamashosh
Sugar Snap Pea

PeaNut 257,999
April 2006
Posts: 13,934
Layouts: 3

Posted: 6/15/2013 5:46:17 PM
I don't have a frayed wire that I can tell, but it does fray my paper. I thought I was the only one disappointed with this trimmer.



3kidmama
Ancient Ancestor of Pea

PeaNut 268,201
July 2006
Posts: 5,579
Layouts: 8
Loc: Northwoods

Posted: 6/15/2013 5:46:30 PM
I've heard of wires fraying, but I have mine for several yrs now, it gets TONS of daily use and I've never had a problem.

Makes you wonder if they got a batch of bad wires OR if the wire/blade positioning is just a fraction off on those particular plastic guides? Hmmm.......

So sorry some of you are having a bad time! IMHO, having a great trimmer is important to this hobby being fun. When you get crooked or jagged cuts on expensive papers...grrrrrr!

~3girls&aguy~
Now what?

PeaNut 924
July 1999
Posts: 5,326
Layouts: 12
Loc: North Texas

Posted: 6/15/2013 6:09:06 PM
I had this happen too. I contacted Fiskars and they sent me a replacement.

I have a friend that works at Michael's corporate and her Fiskars rep told her that they did, in fact, have a bad batch of trimmers with these wires.

Mine has been great so far, plus I've bought one for my kiddo and hers has been great.


~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Kim

artistic scrapper
PeaFixture

PeaNut 104,247
August 2003
Posts: 3,629
Layouts: 0
Loc: The OC

Posted: 6/15/2013 6:24:19 PM
I just got mine and have had no problems so far. I have heard of the wire fraying but also heard that Fiskars will replace it.

I didn't know they made titanium blades. Do these sell these as replacements at M's?


Kylie's and Misty's KittyMom

mjmone
PeaFixture

PeaNut 276,485
September 2006
Posts: 3,632
Layouts: 19
Loc: central ca

Posted: 6/15/2013 6:31:02 PM
I had the wire fraying issue, switched to a rotary cutter, the CutterPillar Pro, and haven't looked back!!


scrapwhenIcan blog






Nikon D3000





Mary Kay Lady
I'm thinking . . .

PeaNut 367,913
March 2008
Posts: 5,459
Layouts: 0
Loc: The state of Confusion!

Posted: 6/15/2013 6:41:36 PM

My wire hasn't frayed. I had to keep replacing the blade because it seemed that every time I went to a crop the blade would be dull.

I used this as justification to upgrade to the Fiskars ProCision trimmer, which I absolutely love.


ColoradoCropper
BucketHead

PeaNut 103,067
August 2003
Posts: 1,229
Layouts: 122


Count: 1
Posted: 6/15/2013 6:51:33 PM
I have. Fiskars sent me a replacement arm but the paper gets chewed up now even though I've changed blades and cleaned out the groove. I'm not happy at all with this trimmer.


Uploaded with iPhone client

ronaba
PeaNut

PeaNut 274,904
August 2006
Posts: 288
Layouts: 0
Loc: New Zealand

Posted: 6/15/2013 10:19:49 PM
I have a titanium blade & it does seem to be lasting a lot longer.

CoastalScrapper
PeaNut

PeaNut 576,527
January 2013
Posts: 136
Layouts: 0

Posted: 6/15/2013 10:31:14 PM
Thanks for the responses. I'll wait and see what Fiskars says. I spoke to someone today who also owns this trimmer and she found that if she used more straight down pressure instead of pushing on an angle either towards or away from you it worked better. I tried it and its a little better but hasn't fixed the problem. The wire is obviously warped but now I have some idea of why it might have been happening.
Uploaded with iPhone client

mswhittaker23
PeaNut

PeaNut 533,791
December 2011
Posts: 287
Layouts: 41

Posted: 6/15/2013 10:31:28 PM
Just got mine and really like it. Haven't had it long enough to notice an issue with the wire though.


http://www.avegasgirlatheart.com/
Uploaded with iPhone client

camanddanismom
Manic Mom of 2

PeaNut 274,243
August 2006
Posts: 11,866
Layouts: 473
Loc: Northeast

Posted: 6/15/2013 10:33:22 PM
Ditto that! Fortunately I spent very little on mine. I don't get the hype either.


Uploaded with iPhone client

Scrapmariner
PeaNut

PeaNut 567,159
September 2012
Posts: 198
Layouts: 0

Posted: 6/17/2013 1:06:45 PM
I had the wire fraying problem too - and my cutter was barely a month old! After the second time, I switched to the Fiskars with the rotary blade and love it!


Diane

miss_scrappea
PeaAddict

PeaNut 113,025
October 2003
Posts: 1,638
Layouts: 67
Loc: Valley of the Sun

Posted: 6/17/2013 1:38:39 PM
My wire was also messed up they sent me a new one.


MARIA

www.mariarodarte.com
Uploaded with iPhone client

brab74
AncestralPea

PeaNut 455,916
February 2010
Posts: 4,280
Layouts: 15
Loc: Central Illinois

Posted: 6/17/2013 1:38:58 PM
My wire has not frayed, but the first trimmer that I bought was not cutting square. I contacted Fiskars via their website and they sent me a replacement. They have excellent customer service.

jediannie
Worker Bee

PeaNut 108,418
September 2003
Posts: 7,616
Layouts: 22
Loc: Sunnyvale, not Sunnydale

Posted: 6/17/2013 1:47:21 PM
I haven't had any problems with mine yet. The nice thing with Fiskars is that they will replace broken tools for you if you call them.

Snowballsmom
PeaFixture

PeaNut 166,868
September 2004
Posts: 3,601
Layouts: 243

Posted: 6/17/2013 6:01:22 PM
Yep, I had two trimmers where the wire frayed. Fiskars replaced both of them for me; in fact, the second time, they sent me the rotary one but I hate it, b/c I can't tell where I am supposed to cut. I bought another one and it's been fine now, though I am seeing that it's kind of warped and not cutting straight.

I will say though that their customer service is great. They guarantee their products for life.


In Memory of my mom, who passed January 21, 2007
In Memory of my Uncle, who passed away January 21, 2008
***********************************************************]
NEW BLOG: www.paperika.blogspot.com

myetsy: paperika.etsy.com

scrapcarver
PeaNut

PeaNut 258,634
April 2006
Posts: 82
Layouts: 6

Posted: 6/17/2013 11:15:14 PM
I had this happen with the very first one I got. Wasn't smart enough to contact Fiskars, but I snipped the wire at both ends and it still works, just don't have the guide. Just could't stand to throw it away. Now maybe I need to just contact them about it.

mjmarmo
PeaAddict

PeaNut 83,276
April 2003
Posts: 1,317
Layouts: 527
Loc: Michigan

Posted: 6/18/2013 6:33:45 AM
I have had Fiskars replace the wire twice. Not sure why it happens to some and not otehrs


Jean


treyaut
StuckOnPeas

PeaNut 427,211
June 2009
Posts: 3,068
Layouts: 53
Loc: in my scraproom in PA

Posted: 6/18/2013 6:50:51 AM
I've returned two to Ms because of the frayed or broken wire. Last one just broke so I just removed the wire. I don't feel like going through returning it again. Besides, I only use mine when I go to crops. I won THIS FISKARS at CKU Stamford last year and I love it. It tays on my workspace.


I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. Phil 4:13

2014 - Layouts Completed - 68
2014 - Mini Albums - 4
2013 - Layouts Completed - 212
2013 - Mini Albums - 20



KirstenDrew
AncestralPea

PeaNut 122,801
January 2004
Posts: 4,901
Layouts: 288
Loc: Ontario Canada

Posted: 6/18/2013 6:51:46 AM
I haven't had any wire fraying issues. I am a little grumped that it's not totally "square" at the ends of the trimmer, I have to use the guide lines to get a truly square cut. And I actually found the titanium blades are much sharper, but actually don't last as long for me!!!



CoastalScrapper
PeaNut

PeaNut 576,527
January 2013
Posts: 136
Layouts: 0

Posted: 6/18/2013 7:16:55 AM
Glad to hear their customer service is great, not so pleased that it keeps happening for some. Not sure whether to ask for the same trimmer or not. The rotary blade trimmer looks so bulky. With so many issues you'd think they would figure out how to solve the problem with the wire and release a better system. Thanks for the feedback.

MeMovieGal
Make a Wish

PeaNut 408,786
January 2009
Posts: 1,191
Layouts: 101

Posted: 6/18/2013 7:22:58 AM
I have had that problem twice, not wanting to invest in a bigger better trimmer i bought two to have one in spare when one wire goes out. I consider it a disposable item and just purchase another one when one breaks. I sure wish they would go back to that gray and orange trimmer of long ago, I loved mine and gave it away when I got the creative memories trimmer, which they then discontinued.

Maribeth






Bears17
PeaNut

PeaNut 570,694
October 2012
Posts: 154
Layouts: 0

Posted: 6/18/2013 7:52:40 AM
The first time I just figured I used it to death so I tossed it and bought a new one. Now not even three months later the second one did it. I am very disappointed. I was in the middle of a project so I just cut off the wire. I keep meaning to call fiskars

gracie33
PeaNut

PeaNut 13,119
March 2001
Posts: 225
Layouts: 46
Loc: Southeast Missouri

Posted: 6/18/2013 9:57:54 AM
I actually just emailed Fiskars about this very problem yesterday - the wire frayed and then broke completely. I had bought the portable rotary-type Fiskars a couple weeks ago to keep at home and use the wire one when I go to crops, so I wasn't out a trimmer. It's good to hear that they have been replacing the broken ones so well!


My Blog: www.gracie33.blogspot.com


chrisil
Baby Pea Step

PeaNut 595,439
October 2013
Posts: 1
Layouts: 0
Posted: 10/4/2013 5:22:57 PM
I have had two problems with the wire fraying. Fiskars sent replacements but each time it took a month, which is frustrating. They didn't send instructions on how to change it out this time and I don't remember. Don't want to snap the plastic. Does anyone have instructions?

Sparehead3
StuckOnPeas

PeaNut 446,722
November 2009
Posts: 2,649
Layouts: 5
Loc: PNW USA

Posted: 10/4/2013 5:34:29 PM
I have had mine 3 years and no wire fraying. The ruler extension did fall off and they sent me a completely new trimmer so their customer service is awesome

alone_inacrowdedroom
What are you looking at?

PeaNut 477,798
August 2010
Posts: 1,590
Layouts: 49

Posted: 10/4/2013 7:35:38 PM
Yes, I've had this problem with mine from day one. I have a Tonic Guillotine now that I use instead of the Fiskars Surecut, but am still in search of the perfect trimmer.



pgaray
PeaNut

PeaNut 434,795
August 2009
Posts: 410
Layouts: 10
Loc: New Jersey

Posted: 10/4/2013 7:45:48 PM
Mine cuts jagged edges on paper--does this mean the wire is frayed? I am so disappointed as this trimmer comes so highly recommended and I liked that it was portable for crops. Can you SEE that the wire is frayed? Going to have to check mine and then contact fiskars. I really want to like this trimmer but am thinking I might have to spend the big bucks and get a Cutterpillar!


Patty G.

Snowballsmom
PeaFixture

PeaNut 166,868
September 2004
Posts: 3,601
Layouts: 243

Posted: 10/4/2013 7:50:36 PM
I am starting to get annoyed with Fiskars products. I have one that I replaced while waiting for my replacement after the 1st 2 had the wire fray. This one is now not cutting very straight. It's about to drive me bonkers. I still hate the rotary one too b/c I can't see where to cut, but also b/c I can't tolerate long periods of time pushing down on my arms.


In Memory of my mom, who passed January 21, 2007
In Memory of my Uncle, who passed away January 21, 2008
***********************************************************]
NEW BLOG: www.paperika.blogspot.com

myetsy: paperika.etsy.com

DrDiva
PeaNut

PeaNut 592,126
August 2013
Posts: 414
Layouts: 3
Loc: Philadelphia, PA
Posted: 10/4/2013 8:27:40 PM
CoastalScrapper,
I had a problem, called the company...they said they had been having complaints...sent me another ruler/wire part.
Second one, still frayed edges.
I called again.
The sent me the cheap rotary trimmer.
When I finally opened it, the measures were hard to read, there were gaps in pieces that made it hard to use.
I called again.
The sent me the 8in rotary trimmer, that doesn't fold, but does have the same face as the initial trimmer I purchased.
I kept the other trimmers and haven't opened the new one yet.
I love the SureCut idea but it just isn't working.


Live. Love. Create.

CoastalScrapper
PeaNut

PeaNut 576,527
January 2013
Posts: 136
Layouts: 0

Posted: 10/4/2013 9:47:43 PM
The company sent me a new arm. ( I had already returned the first cutter to M's and was onto my second trimmer) So far the wire on the new arm isn't shearing but it only cuts cleanly for the first 20 cuts after that it's back to the same thing with frayed edges. I was quite surprised when I initially called the company and their customer service agent's first suggestion was " why don't you just cut the wire"? But that's the whole reason I bought the silly thing! If I cut the wire it's not much different than the one I had before, although I admit it's bigger. I still have friends who absolutely swear by theirs and have had no problems. I don't get it? I recently changed the blade AGAIN! Now I'm starting to wonder if the wire isn't somehow wearing the blade down, instead of the other way around. I'm probably just grasping at straws.

isadari
Make a Wish!

PeaNut 537,664
January 2012
Posts: 112
Layouts: 13

Posted: 10/5/2013 11:29:53 PM
I also ended up with a frayed wire but I think I've figured out what's causing it. So far this solution has worked for me, I haven't had any more trouble so I thought I'd share.

There are two types of replacement blades in Style I for this trimmer. I had been using these originally:
Replacement Blades

After a while I started using these type thinking they were just an updated version: Second Style of Blades When I started using these, that's when I started having a bunch of trouble.

After contacting Friskars, they sent me a replacement section that contained the wire and I went back to using the first type of blades. I haven't had a problem since and that was about a year ago. My theory is that you need to use whichever version of these style I blades that your trimmer originally came with (if you can remember). For me the first version went on easily and always glided smoothly. The second version gave me a lot more resistance but still fit.

Hope that helps somebody!

StreetScrapper
7 years to get here... So now what?

PeaNut 251,919
March 2006
Posts: 5,411
Layouts: 19
Loc: Toronto, Ontario

Posted: 10/6/2013 8:46:07 AM
I've had mine for a few years and have never had an issue with the wire, although I did hear that some people were. I have used the titanium blades since the day I found them (and yes, they are at Ms) but in all honestly, I really don't see that much of a difference. Maybe the last a little bit longer... and maybe the cut a little bit better... but they cost twice as much. As I said, I do use them, but I'm not sure that they make "a world of difference".


Canon 60D
Canon 50mm f/1.8
Canon 85mm f/1.8
Tamron AF 90mm f/2.8 SP Di Macro
Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4.5
Canon EF 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS
Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS
Canon 430EX II
Photoshop Elements 10 - Lightroom 5

jeany
BucketHead

PeaNut 135,547
March 2004
Posts: 658
Layouts: 0
Loc: JOPLIN, Mo

Posted: 10/6/2013 11:09:10 AM
Mine only frays the paper when the blade jumps to the right side of the wire - as long as I make sure the blade is on the left of the wire, it makes clean cuts (until I need to change blades but that's expected). When I lift the arm up, I can see if the blade is to the left or right of the wire - it doesn't slip from one side to the other when cutting but if the blade is at either the top or bottomof the track and the arm is lifted, the blade point is a bit higher than the wire. When I lower the arm and press down to cut, the blade may come down left or right of the wire; I just check it and slip the wire to the left if I need to.

Hope this makes sense!


doesitmatter?
Ancient Ancestor of Pea

PeaNut 509,811
May 2011
Posts: 6,639
Layouts: 27

Posted: 10/6/2013 11:29:02 AM
Nope - have had it 3 years now. Bought one for a friend who has had gets for 2, no issues.


Child of God, follower of Jesus, and so thankful for His presence in my life <><
Uploaded with iPhone client

ScrapinCT
Apron Wearing - I Love Lucy inspired Housewife

PeaNut 248,491
February 2006
Posts: 6,096
Layouts: 105
Loc: Wallingford, Connecticut

Posted: 10/6/2013 3:24:10 PM
Yes! Two have done this and I called them and they sent replacements. It happens often, twice within a few years for me


Show/Hide Icons . Show/Hide Signatures
Hide
{{ title }}
{{ icon }}
{{ body }}
{{ footer }}