Silhouette Cameo Library Backup help please!

Two Peas is Closing
Click here to visit our final product sale. Click here to visit our FAQ page regarding the closing of Two Peas.

Posted 2/9/2014 by TheJay in General Scrappin'
 

TheJay
PeaNut

PeaNut 106,430
September 2003
Posts: 297
Layouts: 42
Loc: Sydney, Australia

Posted: 2/9/2014 12:57:33 AM
Hi everyone.

I am needing a little help backing up my library as I wish to put it onto a new computer. I am using Mac OS X Lion 10.7.5 at the moment.

Every piece of advice I've been given so far requires me to go to my Library on my HD and then Application Support and copy the file
com.aspexsoftware.Silhouette_Studio.8.

This would be great if that file was there (or anywhere else on my computer for that matter!!!).

Any other suggestions? I really don't want to have to use up another of my backups from Silhouette themselves.

Thanks in advance.

caspad
peas&crackers

PeaNut 3,602
April 2000
Posts: 14,291
Layouts: 376
Loc: Massachusetts

Posted: 2/9/2014 6:54:19 AM
The Silhouette library is a web application now.

Just open the Silhouette software on your new computer. Click on the blue Silhouette store button. Log into your account. Go to account and click restore library.

Do not fret about only having three restores available. If you are concerned, call Silhouette and tell them you have a new computer and they can reset your number back to zero.


Christi in MA
Uploaded with iPhone client

Iowa_girl
PeaAddict

PeaNut 225,620
October 2005
Posts: 1,492
Layouts: 0

Posted: 2/9/2014 9:07:27 AM
If you have files that you did not purchase from Silhouette, and you added them to your libary, they will not restore though.

I keep all files that I have gotten from other sources (purchased and freebies), in a separate folder. You don't have to have them in your Silhouette Library to open them. They are much easier to back up and transfer this way.

Same for fonts. I have a PC, but I just install them in my windows font folder, but I do keep the original download file in another folder for backup purposes.

Scrapn Nana
PEAring through my camera lens

PeaNut 272,954
August 2006
Posts: 8,491
Layouts: 26

Posted: 2/9/2014 9:38:43 AM
One other way to back up your Silhouette store purchases is to open the design, then do a "save as" to a folder on your computer. I have a folder labeled "My Silhouette Purchases" for this.

I hadn't known about the web based back up. That is good to know, because I tried following directions given previously for backing up files, so I could load them onto my laptop, and it didn't work. At all. That is when I figured out I could open and do a "save as" to a folder on my computer. The downside is that those have to be imported one by one to the Silhouette library on the laptop.


My Scrapn' Blog

Photographers are violent people. First they frame you, then they shoot you, then they hang you on the wall; but if you're real good, they will scrapbook you!

Scrapn Nana
PEAring through my camera lens

PeaNut 272,954
August 2006
Posts: 8,491
Layouts: 26

Posted: 2/9/2014 9:39:28 AM
So if I want to load all of my library on a second computer, I can do that?

The other day I was wishing I could just take my mini laptop and old blue Wishblade to the LSS and use my Silhouette designs while I scrapped there. My Cameo is connected to my desktop.


My Scrapn' Blog

Photographers are violent people. First they frame you, then they shoot you, then they hang you on the wall; but if you're real good, they will scrapbook you!

Iowa_girl
PeaAddict

PeaNut 225,620
October 2005
Posts: 1,492
Layouts: 0

Posted: 2/9/2014 11:02:32 AM

So if I want to load all of my library on a second computer, I can do that?


Yep!

vicki123
PeaNut

PeaNut 466,697
May 2010
Posts: 213
Layouts: 0
Loc: United States

Posted: 2/9/2014 12:17:31 PM
Double checking, this thread is indicating that the Silhouette image files are no longer being stored in our own computers in the com.aspexsoftware.Silhouette_Studio.8 file? So really it doesn't do any good to back up that file any more? (Is this something relatively new Silhouette has started doing?)

Scrapn Nana, are you saying that in the Silhouette software, you double click on the image you want to use, that puts it on the screen where you can manipulate the image, and this is how you are saving each image.

I know Silhouette has to make it where people can't share their images or distribute their images, or whatever, but I don't like not being able to have the images physically backed up on my hard drive.

Their being overcautious about their images, may be the same thing that drives people away from purchasing their images.

devildog
Be gentle; I'm a delicate little flower

PeaNut 172,765
October 2004
Posts: 12,223
Layouts: 2
Loc: Why do you wanna know?

Posted: 2/9/2014 12:34:04 PM

So if I want to load all of my library on a second computer, I can do that?



Yep!


OMG-is that good to know! I use my laptop, and while my scrapping space is in the basement, I hated lugging it downstairs. I'm happy to know that I can use my DH's computer that's in the basement. Is this true with the upgraded software also?


I know Silhouette has to make it where people can't share their images or distribute their images, or whatever, but I don't like not being able to have the images physically backed up on my hard drive.

Their being overcautious about their images, may be the same thing that drives people away from purchasing their images.


I'm horribly tech-challenged, so I probably don't know what I'm talking about, but if you have everything backed up on your HD, and that crashes, wouldn't you lose what you backed up anyway?

I got a new laptop some time ago, and I'm just getting around to reloading the images I bought from Silhouette store directly. I have to either see if DH saved the files I bought elsewhere on this computer, or go back to the Kerri Bradford store and get them, hopefully saved.


*****Natalie*****

FYI--That avatar is NOT me; it's NOT my DH; it's NOT my father; and, I'm NOT related to him by blood or marriage. It's just a dude...wearing a Wal-Mart bag.

"May the fleas of a thousand camels infest your crotch and may your arms be too short to scratch." TheSeaBee&Me, 5/20/2009

I love the smell of drama in the morning!


vicki123
PeaNut

PeaNut 466,697
May 2010
Posts: 213
Layouts: 0
Loc: United States

Posted: 2/9/2014 12:38:51 PM
Devildog, I should have said backed up to an external hard drive.

vicki123
PeaNut

PeaNut 466,697
May 2010
Posts: 213
Layouts: 0
Loc: United States

Posted: 2/9/2014 1:05:53 PM
I am not sure I understand some of the posts above. I just downloaded from my desktop, the heart marquee, the free Silhouette shape of the week. (I did this on Sunday, February 9.)

I then copied the com.aspexsoftware.Silhouette_Studio.8 file from my desktop to an external hard drive. From the external hard drive, I copied this file to my laptop.

I went to my Silhouette software on my laptop and the heart marquee image that I had just downloaded on my desktop, was in the file I copied, and now it is also on my laptop.

As long as this can be done, I am totally happy.

Scrapn Nana
PEAring through my camera lens

PeaNut 272,954
August 2006
Posts: 8,491
Layouts: 26

Posted: 2/9/2014 2:07:08 PM

Scrapn Nana, are you saying that in the Silhouette software, you double click on the image you want to use, that puts it on the screen where you can manipulate the image, and this is how you are saving each image.


Yes!

You double click the file, just as if you are going to tweak it, but once it is on the workspace (big white square) then do a "save as" to a folder on your computer, a flash drive, or external hard drive.

And I am happy to know that I can load my files on my mini laptop for cutting on the go!


My Scrapn' Blog

Photographers are violent people. First they frame you, then they shoot you, then they hang you on the wall; but if you're real good, they will scrapbook you!

aliwinn
BucketHead

PeaNut 553,267
May 2012
Posts: 939
Layouts: 31
Loc: Ontario, Canada

Posted: 2/9/2014 2:31:23 PM
I'm on windows, not mac but my images are absolutely stored on my computer....the software installs on your computer and within that software is a file that stores your library as you have created it....

By copying the studio.8 file, you copy your library as you have created it, folders and all ...
If you restore your library from the website, you will get all your individual designs back, no folders and no designs of course, that you purchased elsewhere....
It is wise to back up your library on an external hard drive or elsewhere.

As far as not seeing the file, sometimes it is a 'hidden file'...to enable hidden files to be seen on Mac OS x....

1.Open Finder
2.Open the Utilities folder
3.Open a terminal window
4.Copy and paste the following line in: defaults write com.apple.Finder AppleShowAllFiles YES
5.Press return
6.Now hold 'alt' on the keyboard and right click on the Finder icon
7.Click on Relaunch

That should fix the problem....



Alison

2014 GOALS:
21 of 52 layouts completed
December Daily minibook completed

Scrapn Nana
PEAring through my camera lens

PeaNut 272,954
August 2006
Posts: 8,491
Layouts: 26

Posted: 2/9/2014 6:06:32 PM
I tried copying the studio.8 file and putting it on my laptop, and it didn't seem to work the way the instructions given here showed. I made my hidden files visible and found it easily, but the files did not transfer to my other computer.

That is when I figured out I could still back up my files one at a time. Not too crazy about that option since I have at least 500 or more files now, but better than nothing.


My Scrapn' Blog

Photographers are violent people. First they frame you, then they shoot you, then they hang you on the wall; but if you're real good, they will scrapbook you!

aliwinn
BucketHead

PeaNut 553,267
May 2012
Posts: 939
Layouts: 31
Loc: Ontario, Canada

Posted: 2/9/2014 8:17:09 PM
Ok, sorry if this seems like a stupid question but......are you putting it in the same folder within the software? You know that you don't just "put it on my laptop", right?......

You have to replace the file of the same name that is in the software on your laptop.....


Alison

2014 GOALS:
21 of 52 layouts completed
December Daily minibook completed

vicki123
PeaNut

PeaNut 466,697
May 2010
Posts: 213
Layouts: 0
Loc: United States

Posted: 2/9/2014 8:29:59 PM
To copy com.aspexsoftware.Silhouette_Studio.8 from my XP desktop computer to an external hard drive, I used a free program called TeraCopy.

The com.aspexsoftware.Silhouette_Studio.8 folder contents were either too large or some file names were too long, so the folder wouldn't copy without using TeraCopy.

Scrapn Nana
PEAring through my camera lens

PeaNut 272,954
August 2006
Posts: 8,491
Layouts: 26

Posted: 2/9/2014 8:40:01 PM

Ok, sorry if this seems like a stupid question but......are you putting it in the same folder within the software? You know that you don't just "put it on my laptop", right?......

You have to replace the file of the same name that is in the software on your laptop.....


Yes, I put it in the same folder and copied over the essentially "empty" (of designs) studio.8 folder of the other computer.

Didn't work.


To copy com.aspexsoftware.Silhouette_Studio.8 from my XP desktop computer to an external hard drive, I used a free program called TeraCopy.

The com.aspexsoftware.Silhouette_Studio.8 folder contents were either too large or some file names were too long, so the folder wouldn't copy without using TeraCopy.


I will look into that. Thank you!


My Scrapn' Blog

Photographers are violent people. First they frame you, then they shoot you, then they hang you on the wall; but if you're real good, they will scrapbook you!

vicki123
PeaNut

PeaNut 466,697
May 2010
Posts: 213
Layouts: 0
Loc: United States

Posted: 2/9/2014 9:27:26 PM
The "old" com.aspexsoftware.Silhouette_Studio.8 folder may need to be deleted before replacing it with the new backed up copy.


Backing up Silhouette Image Files

Another site explaining backing up Silhouette images.
In Windows 7, there are two places that the folder has to be replaced.

(It was Aliwinn on this forum in another thread that explained backing up the Silhouette images. With her explanations I figured out how to do it.)

TheJay
PeaNut

PeaNut 106,430
September 2003
Posts: 297
Layouts: 42
Loc: Sydney, Australia

Posted: 2/10/2014 3:13:33 AM
Thanks for the response ladies but other than using the web and asking them to restore my number of backup downloads I'm none the wiser. My problem is that the studio.8 file doesn't exist on my computer anywhere! I've sent an email off to tech support (living outside the US makes it hard to ring them) and I'll post what they reply with incase anyone else has this problem.

Scrapn Nana
PEAring through my camera lens

PeaNut 272,954
August 2006
Posts: 8,491
Layouts: 26

Posted: 4/6/2014 6:24:34 PM
The file IS there, but it is a hidden folder.

I found more detailed directions on the Silhouette Plus forum, which were particularly helpful because I was copying files from a Windows 7 computer to a Windows XP mini laptop. They gave links to how to show the hidden files & folders, although I have done that before. I did move the Studio file from the XP computer to another location as a precaution in case I totally messed up somehow, but the process worked perfectly, and this morning I succeeded in copying my entire library from my desktop to my mini laptop. I can take the mini to the LSS with my old blue Wishblade now, and still keep my Cameo set up with my desktop.

I am a happy girl!


My Scrapn' Blog

Photographers are violent people. First they frame you, then they shoot you, then they hang you on the wall; but if you're real good, they will scrapbook you!

irishscrappermom8
Ancient Ancestor of Pea

PeaNut 220,508
August 2005
Posts: 5,593
Layouts: 54
Loc: IL

Posted: 4/6/2014 8:26:43 PM
It's probably hidden. You need to change your settings to see hidden files.

I have a Mac and that file IS there. I copy it every time I buy a shape or import files from other places (Kerri Bradford's site, for example). I copy it on to an EHD, then plug it in to my laptop and copy it over to the application folder there. Then when I use my silhouette on my laptop everything is there.





cardipaws
PeaAddict

PeaNut 412,430
February 2009
Posts: 1,765
Layouts: 349
Loc: Spfld MO

Posted: 4/7/2014 6:55:45 PM
Hee hee, I had trouble with the same thing. The file is hidden.

To find it do the following:
On your Finder menu go to "Go" and see the drop down menu
Then you will need to hold down the alt/option button. When you do this, "Library" will appear in that drop down menu. You HAVE to hold the button down to select "Library", if you don't it will disappear. Try it!

Once you select "Library" then select the folder "Application Support", this will have the Silhouette file you are looking for. There will be two of them, just make sure to copy the correct one.

An easier way is if you have an icon for your Macintosh HD on your desktop. Mine was hidden, so I had to google how to find it. But if you have that icon you should be able to click on it and find the Library folder that way.

HTH!


Hugs, Katrina

My Blog!! Come say Hi!


I Happily Design For:
Imaginisce
ThermOWeb Adhesives
3 Birds Design
WorldWin Papers
CREATE Magazine

JennyLeigh413
PeaWee

PeaNut 606,324
June 2014
Posts: 2
Layouts: 0
Posted: 6/13/2014 1:29:04 PM
This has been helpful! Unfortunately, I am still having trouble!

I am using a Mac (OX S Version 10.8.3). I went to Library, Application Support, but still do not see the file I need in order to replace it with the file that I saved from my old computer (com.aspexsoftware.Silhouette_Studio).

Here is a screen shot of what I see:


Use this link to see screen shot:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0ByHiBg8eOV57N0pCc3VLYnR0TVU/edit?usp=sharing


Can anyone help??? Please??? Thanks!!! Link to screen shot

Iowa_girl
PeaAddict

PeaNut 225,620
October 2005
Posts: 1,492
Layouts: 0

Posted: 6/13/2014 2:24:42 PM
I have never had any luck with the old style back up (and I am a windows user - so doubly unhelpful for you)

But! The new version of the software does have a Library export/import function built in now.

Do you still have access to the old computer? If so, update your software (on both machines) to the newest version V3.0.531.

Under FILE->Library-> choose export, then import that file to your new computer.


I have not personally tried this yet - so I can't say if it import/exports every file, or just the ones that are .studio format.


JennyLeigh413
PeaWee

PeaNut 606,324
June 2014
Posts: 2
Layouts: 0
Posted: 6/13/2014 4:04:35 PM
No I don't. It was a work computer and I had to turn it in!!! SAD!!!! Thanks for your reply, though!!!
Show/Hide Icons . Show/Hide Signatures
Hide
{{ title }}
{{ icon }}
{{ body }}
{{ footer }}