cameo- blade problems....help!

Two Peas is Closing
Click here to visit our final product sale. Click here to visit our FAQ page regarding the closing of Two Peas.

Posted 2/10/2014 by scrappin4swtpeas in General Scrappin'
 

scrappin4swtpeas
PeaAddict

PeaNut 162,984
August 2004
Posts: 1,148
Layouts: 1
Loc: Chicagoland

Posted: 2/10/2014 11:29:09 AM
So one day my cameo was working fine & the next day it wasn't. It seems to be having problems cutting curves & small areas, which previously it hasn't. It skips over parts in these small areas.

I have changed the blade, used WD 40 on the bar, cleaned the mat, made sure the blade was positioned right, updated the software & changed the packet size. I have called silhouette 6 times & they have had me send videos of the machine working & pictures of the blade position. I have emailed back & forth with them 11 times. They never seem to answer customer service anymore, I always have to leave a message. I have been working on this problem since about mid January.

And still no solution. I use my cameo for a side business & have had it for 2 1/2 years, so its not new to me. I have used this from the beginning with almost no issues, so this happening now is incredibly frustrating.

Has anyone had experience with this? Is there something else I can try? I use this machine all the time & don't know what to do!




thekatsmeow
StuckOnPeas

PeaNut 347,059
November 2007
Posts: 2,140
Layouts: 138
Loc: Bremerton, WA

Posted: 2/10/2014 11:40:57 AM
I dont' know if this will help but have you tried using a can of air to spray out the blade tip just to make sure nothing is stuck in there and are you sure your mat has no little bits of paper left from the last cuts you made?



scrappin4swtpeas
PeaAddict

PeaNut 162,984
August 2004
Posts: 1,148
Layouts: 1
Loc: Chicagoland

Posted: 2/10/2014 11:43:40 AM
I have. Its a new blade, so there is nothing in it. Its also weird, because its not cutting on the same parts of the image, no matter what mat I use.



Basket1lady
AncestralPea

PeaNut 465,906
April 2010
Posts: 4,602
Layouts: 0
Loc: Northern Virginia

Posted: 2/10/2014 12:30:38 PM
Have you zoomed in on the image to make sure there is a cutting line there? Or that there isn't a jog?

I had a rectangle that I was trying to cut. I made the shape myself; I didn't buy it from the store. For some reason, there was a spot that wasn't complete. I added in the cut points and it cut fine after that.


Michelle
Uploaded with iPhone client

Iowa_girl
PeaAddict

PeaNut 225,620
October 2005
Posts: 1,492
Layouts: 0

Posted: 2/10/2014 1:50:34 PM
Could your black strip under the blade be damaged? If those get damaged, it will mess up the cuts. They are replaceable.

scrappin4swtpeas
PeaAddict

PeaNut 162,984
August 2004
Posts: 1,148
Layouts: 1
Loc: Chicagoland

Posted: 2/10/2014 2:59:34 PM
I know it's not the image itself, it happens on all images. I have had that happen though, I know what you are talking about.

I will look at the black strip when I get home though.

Thanks for the suggestion!


Show/Hide Icons . Show/Hide Signatures
Hide
{{ title }}
{{ icon }}
{{ body }}
{{ footer }}