Ancient Ancestor of Pea
|Posted: 10/4/2012 1:51:01 PM|
lard, butter, eggs, dairy.... anything else?
And if you have a suggestion of one, that would be good too. One SIL is vegan, the other eats GF so I don't think I'm going to find 1 dessert that works for them both......
The Project Pea
|Posted: 10/4/2012 2:39:06 PM|meat
You could do a vegan pumpkin custard (no crust) for dessert, or an apple crisp with a nut/oat/sugar topping and no wheat flour in the apples.
oooh, what you said!
|Posted: 10/4/2012 2:40:52 PM|Don't stress over it, just go to this blog: Chocolate covered Katie she's a vegan and she has a ton of desert recipes. We really like her chocolate pie made with tofu.
|Posted: 10/4/2012 2:42:16 PM|
Coconut Crack Bars
Makes 6-8 bars
1 cup shredded coconut (unsweetened)
1/4 cup agave or pure maple syrup (or 1/4 cup water and 2-3 nunaturals stevia packs)
2 tbsp virgin coconut oil
1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
1/8 tsp salt
Combine all ingredients in a food processor. Squish into any small container and fridge for an hour before trying to cut. (Or freeze for 15 minutes.) Can be stored in the fridge or freezer, for at least a few weeks
Leads a Charmed Life
Loc: East Coast
Loc: State of cultural confusion. Yeehaw and Aloha have collided!
|Posted: 10/4/2012 2:49:31 PM|You need to avoid gelatin for the vegan.
I'd make haupia. I looks like a gelatin but isn't so you'll need to let the vegan know. And it is gluten free.
Loc: Sunnyvale, not Sunnydale
|Posted: 10/4/2012 2:53:07 PM|
Tofu chocolate pie is AWESOME! It's so creamy without the dairy. . .
Loc: New Jersey
|Posted: 10/4/2012 3:34:55 PM|ohsheglows.com is another source for vegan recipes... I'm not vegan but a friend has made a ton of her recipes and she and her 3 kids LOVE them... just another place to take a look at!
|Posted: 10/4/2012 4:07:16 PM|
I used to work for a company that made vegetarian and vegan foods. In case none of the recipes you choose come from a vegan website, here are a few other ingredients to avoid (some surprised me when I first learned of them):
- honey (comes from bees so not vegan)
- cane sugar (in its processing it is filtered through diatomaceous (sp?) earth which is the microscopic skeletons of prehistoric creatures)Beet sugar is acceptable as far as I know.
- Red food coloring if it is made from cochineal or carmine (exoskeletons of red insects crushed up)
Wife, Mom, Food Scientist and occasional Scrapbooker