When you make cookies do you ever put one tray

Two Peas is Closing
Click here to visit our final product sale. Click here to visit our FAQ page regarding the closing of Two Peas.

Posted 12/9/2012 by kms66 in NSBR Board
 

kms66
StuckOnPeas

PeaNut 184,535
January 2005
Posts: 2,890
Layouts: 182
Loc: in the southwest

Posted: 12/9/2012 10:51:15 PM
On the middle shelf and one on a higher shelf to get them finished faster?


Uploaded with iPhone client

e_doe
PeaNut

PeaNut 525,528
October 2011
Posts: 306
Layouts: 0

Posted: 12/9/2012 11:08:41 PM
When I have tried this, it has not worked. I had to switch the trays' location halfway through and it still wasn't right.
Uploaded with iPhone client

*~*amanda*~*
...

PeaNut 393,905
October 2008
Posts: 7,415
Layouts: 0
Loc: Illinois

Posted: 12/9/2012 11:11:20 PM
I always do that and have never had a problem.

Ive done it that way in my current house as well as the 4 previous ones I lived in.



cmpeter
PEAceful Pea

PeaNut 14,521
April 2001
Posts: 37,572
Layouts: 31
Loc: Washington State

Posted: 12/9/2012 11:12:36 PM
I prefer one tray at a time.


Cindi

{Betsy}
Creative Dreamer

PeaNut 82,675
April 2003
Posts: 10,742
Layouts: 12

Posted: 12/10/2012 1:06:36 AM
I just do one tray at a time, too.



Mommy2SandB
BucketHead

PeaNut 181,205
December 2004
Posts: 684
Layouts: 7
Loc: Where the wild things are...

Posted: 12/10/2012 1:10:49 AM
Just one. They never seem to turn out the same when I do that.


*Susan*

GroovyPea
AncestralPea

PeaNut 219,082
August 2005
Posts: 4,878
Layouts: 224
Loc: Wild Wonderful WV

Posted: 12/10/2012 5:57:08 AM
I do two trays, side by side.


Steph

*Delphinium Twinkle*
I'm just a pea:)

PeaNut 163,613
August 2004
Posts: 78,773
Layouts: 236
Loc: *Sunny Southern California*

Posted: 12/10/2012 5:58:35 AM
One at a time.


Bethie
proud Fiskateer #269
{My Blog}
*My Scraproom*
Uploaded with iPhone client

AussieMeg
How about you, Lash LaRue?

PeaNut 51,689
October 2002
Posts: 7,844
Layouts: 16
Loc: Melbourne, Australia

Posted: 12/10/2012 6:00:40 AM
I prefer to do one at a time in the middle, but sometimes I do one low and the other in the middle then swap them over halfway through. I never put on tray at the top, they will always burn.

Shih Tzu Mommy
Million dollar camera, 10 dollar lock!

PeaNut 224,352
September 2005
Posts: 24,004
Layouts: 0
Loc: Right here

Posted: 12/10/2012 7:26:11 AM
I put cookies on all 5 racks in the oven.



Dog people are a special breed!

AKathy
Peaing From Podunk

PeaNut 45,443
August 2002
Posts: 16,554
Layouts: 93
Loc: North Dakota

Posted: 12/10/2012 7:29:34 AM
No they don't bake evenly when I try that so I stick to one tray at a time.


***************************************


Mother Goose's Meandering Mind



Nantini
Ancient Ancestor of Pea

PeaNut 274,935
August 2006
Posts: 5,850
Layouts: 8

Posted: 12/10/2012 7:41:03 AM
If you have a convection oven it works well, but you do have to adjust the timing. I've tried it without the convection part on, but only with chic chip ones. People will eat those regardless of how they turn out.



S_cR_aP_Booker
PeaAddict

PeaNut 400,592
November 2008
Posts: 1,586
Layouts: 0
Loc: Mississippi

Posted: 12/10/2012 8:04:27 AM
I only do one at a time, but then I have one ready go and one cooling. Does that make sense?

GrinningCat
Proudly Canadian

PeaNut 43,061
July 2002
Posts: 33,591
Layouts: 2

Posted: 12/10/2012 8:10:04 AM
Always.

SMayer
StuckOnPeas

PeaNut 432,055
July 2009
Posts: 2,346
Layouts: 0

Posted: 12/10/2012 10:30:20 AM
I have a 1950's Wolf professional range. It fits four cookies sheets. I cook them all at the same time, rotating halfway through.

coconut01
PeaFixture

PeaNut 365,082
March 2008
Posts: 3,547
Layouts: 0
Loc: toronto

Posted: 12/10/2012 11:10:57 AM
I do, I have a convection oven, works great. I tried three trays and it didn't so two is the max for me. Top two shelves, bottom one empty.


who is this kid and why does he keep calling me mom?

my blog:

my blog

crimsoncat05
PeaFixture

PeaNut 273,602
August 2006
Posts: 3,993
Layouts: 99
Loc: Phoenix, AZ area

Posted: 12/10/2012 11:18:52 AM
I always bake like this and switch the cookie sheet positions halfway through... works for me. It's success might depend somewhat on how touchy of a recipe of cookies you're making.






"Accepting anything without question is the antithesis of critical thinking and education. ~wren*walk, 8/20/12"


ilovebuble
PeaFixture

PeaNut 539,539
January 2012
Posts: 3,850
Layouts: 0

Posted: 12/10/2012 11:27:20 AM
I've always used two trays and I rotate them halfway through. I make so many cookies during the holidays that I wouldn't have the time or the patience to make the process twice as long.

kms66
StuckOnPeas

PeaNut 184,535
January 2005
Posts: 2,890
Layouts: 182
Loc: in the southwest

Posted: 12/10/2012 1:38:38 PM
Thank you! I may try two at a time and see what happens. I can't fit them in side by side unfortunately.


Uploaded with iPhone client

busypea
boring + nerdy

PeaNut 52,817
October 2002
Posts: 27,974
Layouts: 145
Loc: Oregon

Posted: 12/10/2012 1:46:33 PM
Works fine for me with a convection oven. I did not get satisfactory results in our old non-convection oven, though. That needed to be one tray at a time.

chelsea_bug
AncestralPea

PeaNut 89,393
June 2003
Posts: 4,619
Layouts: 0
Loc: Central New York

Posted: 12/10/2012 2:03:18 PM
Yesterday was cookie day at my grandma's house. Both oven racks were filled with cookies non-stop from 11am until 8pm.


Chelsea_Bug

peano
Helicopter Dog Mom

PeaNut 43,034
July 2002
Posts: 6,992
Layouts: 4
Loc: Connecticut

Posted: 12/10/2012 2:24:21 PM
I've tried using 3 cookie sheets, but invariably, the one on the bottom burns. I've never tried my convection bake feature so maybe I need to try that this year.


My stuff:
Canon 7D
Canon Rebel XT
kit lens 18-55mm
28-135mm IS 3.5-5.6
50mm 1.8
85mm 1.8
580EXII Speedlite
CS5
LR4




shutterbugmom27
BucketHead

PeaNut 70,995
February 2003
Posts: 885
Layouts: 1
Loc: Fraggle Rock

Posted: 12/10/2012 2:32:33 PM
I prefer one tray at a time. I have never had good results doing more than one tray


Heather
Married mom of 4



pynk E

PeaNut 48,314
September 2002
Posts: 13,303
Layouts: 295

Posted: 12/10/2012 3:52:37 PM
Yes but only using the convection mode.

zombie*grrl
WHO PUT A DICK IN THIS BOX?

PeaNut 281,551
October 2006
Posts: 5,246
Layouts: 0

Posted: 12/10/2012 4:53:19 PM
2 or 3, with the convection on.

MikeWozowski
Ancient Ancestor of Pea

PeaNut 174,400
October 2004
Posts: 7,956
Layouts: 20

Posted: 12/10/2012 5:24:21 PM
never

Choo Choo Charlie
That'll do Pea

PeaNut 51,676
October 2002
Posts: 26,154
Layouts: 24
Loc: Loihi

Posted: 12/10/2012 5:26:15 PM
It depends how much time I have. If I have plenty, one at a time. If not, I do two but have to switch them halfway through.



jolin2
PeaNut

PeaNut 499,947
February 2011
Posts: 238
Layouts: 0

Posted: 12/11/2012 12:41:32 AM
only one tray at a time. If I get distracted, I don't want to burn all the cookies!

benem
I live for the applause applause applause...

PeaNut 526,154
October 2011
Posts: 7,786
Layouts: 0
Loc: Illinois

Posted: 12/11/2012 2:00:18 AM
Yes sometimes.


Uploaded with iPhone client

NewfCathy
AncestralPea

PeaNut 268,368
July 2006
Posts: 4,090
Layouts: 27
Loc: North of Boston

Posted: 12/11/2012 9:44:23 AM
I have a convection oven and do 3 trays at a time.

I will never get an oven that isn't a convection oven.

Cathy
Show/Hide Icons . Show/Hide Signatures
Hide
{{ title }}
{{ icon }}
{{ body }}
{{ footer }}