Smart object is not directly editable-WHAT?!

Two Peas is Closing
Click here to visit our final product sale. Click here to visit our FAQ page regarding the closing of Two Peas.

Posted 5/26/2011 by jamieonthegulf in Digital Scrapbooking
 

jamieonthegulf
PeaNut

PeaNut 223,993
September 2005
Posts: 380
Layouts: 19
Loc: Florida

Posted: 5/26/2011 2:54:19 PM
I'm trying to remove the white background from a sticker that has a logo on it that was designed for me. Whenever I upload what I have to a business card company, for example, the logo is on a white square & I'd rather just have the logo itself without the background on the card. I'm using PSE but the magic extractor wand, the eraser etc... won't remove that white bkgd color--an error message pops up saying that the smart object is not directly editable. Can anyone explain that to me, or what to do to remove the white?? Thanks!!

stefdesign
PhotoshoPEAholic

PeaNut 307,816
April 2007
Posts: 12,819
Layouts: 962
Loc: So Cal Gal Living in NJ

Posted: 5/26/2011 3:51:14 PM
There are a couple of reasons you might have a smart object in your file. Either the original design was created in Illustrator or another vector or raster based program, or a smart object was created in Photoshop, to keep the original file sharp & clear, no matter how large it is reproduced. A smart object is a file that, unlike a regular PSD, or png file, is not directly editable.

In Photoshop, go to Layer> Smart Object> Rasterize, and that should make your artwork editable. But I'm not sure if that's the same process in Elements.



Erica Hernandez
Olympian Pea

PeaNut 44,581
August 2002
Posts: 22,332
Layouts: 636
Loc: the mitten state :)

Posted: 5/26/2011 4:09:30 PM
Rasterize in PSE is "simplify"

Also, is the image on its own layer or is it the background?


erica

crashnotes

jamieonthegulf
PeaNut

PeaNut 223,993
September 2005
Posts: 380
Layouts: 19
Loc: Florida

Posted: 5/29/2011 9:22:15 AM
Thanks so much! You gals were right on the mark!! Now I just have to figure out if this is the best plan to remove the bkgd--it's a really complicated design with lots of little bits to be removed--at least I k now how to even proceed! Thanks again!!

Damien
BucketHead

PeaNut 504,196
April 2011
Posts: 574
Layouts: 0
Loc: Brisbane, Australia

Posted: 5/29/2011 5:43:52 PM
If you'd like to show us the logo, we can give you some advice about the background.

However, I'm dubious about this. If it was a smart object, it was probably for a reason - there might be a much easier way to handle this situation. I wish I could analyse your file.


Damien
Stay-at-home Dad ... part-time Photoshop guy ... full-time nerd
Want Photoshop resources? Visit My Site | My Blog | My Facebook

jamieonthegulf
PeaNut

PeaNut 223,993
September 2005
Posts: 380
Layouts: 19
Loc: Florida

Posted: 5/29/2011 9:47:45 PM
Well...here it be! The logo is the image & it's on a white square bkgd. When I upload it to online bus card, brochure etc... service the bkgd square doesn't blend onto the pg so I was trying to remove that & upload just the positive part of the logo. Whatcha think?? LOGO


My PROJECT 365 at shuttercal: PROJECT 365

Damien
BucketHead

PeaNut 504,196
April 2011
Posts: 574
Layouts: 0
Loc: Brisbane, Australia

Posted: 5/29/2011 10:46:48 PM
Now I'm confused - this looks like a scan? Maybe you've scanned the sticker you mentioned in the beginning, is that it? Or am I missing the mark here?

When the logo was designed for you, what file formats was it supplied in?


Damien
Stay-at-home Dad ... part-time Photoshop guy ... full-time nerd
Want Photoshop resources? Visit My Site | My Blog | My Facebook

stefdesign
PhotoshoPEAholic

PeaNut 307,816
April 2007
Posts: 12,819
Layouts: 962
Loc: So Cal Gal Living in NJ

Posted: 5/30/2011 9:53:56 AM
Now that you've turned it from a smart object into an editable image, maybe the best thing to do it make it a brush, since it's all one color. That will ease the hassle of trying to remove all of the background. Start by making the image black & white, (Image> Adjustments> Black & White) and making sure the contrast is sharp and clear. Just go to Edit> Define Brush Preset, and now it's a brush. You can find it in your brush palette, at the very end. You can now "stamp" this image any size, any color, and you won't see any stray white pixels anywhere. Hope this helps.



jamieonthegulf
PeaNut

PeaNut 223,993
September 2005
Posts: 380
Layouts: 19
Loc: Florida

Posted: 5/31/2011 12:48:46 AM
Stef...YOU ARE BRRRRRRRRILLLLLLIANT! Thank you for taking the time to explain that. It totally worked!!!!! Thank you!!!!
Show/Hide Icons . Show/Hide Signatures
Hide
{{ title }}
{{ icon }}
{{ body }}
{{ footer }}