Silhouette Studio: Explain how to add fold lines to design

Two Peas is Closing
Click here to visit our final product sale. Click here to visit our FAQ page regarding the closing of Two Peas.

Posted 1/29/2012 by Pesto126 in General Scrappin'
 

Pesto126
PeaNut

PeaNut 112,495
October 2003
Posts: 284
Layouts: 0
Loc: Earth

Posted: 1/29/2012 7:30:33 AM
Hi All - I've searched high and low for the answer to this but just cannot find out how to create fold lines using the Sil Studio software.. I'm sure it is obvious and I'm missing something - but how does one go about adding this? I wanted to create one for a sweetheart box I'm working on - figured I can get much more accurate folds using the software than I can using my ruler and then I can just print out as many as I need rather than hand-scoring them all... any youtube videos or other tutorials would be great. I feel like the software is trapped in a time warp - the controls are really cluncky and the software not very intuitive - this is coming from someone who uses Photoshop and Indesign on a daily basis!

Thanks Ladies!!



VexedAngel
Cold Pea on a Cracked Plate

PeaNut 156,343
July 2004
Posts: 5,250
Layouts: 46

Posted: 1/29/2012 8:27:52 AM
It will make perforated score lines, is that what you want? I know there is a way to do this, but I'll have to look at it, watching Bubby right now so will try later...


Uploaded with iPhone client

VexedAngel
Cold Pea on a Cracked Plate

PeaNut 156,343
July 2004
Posts: 5,250
Layouts: 46

Posted: 1/29/2012 8:42:04 AM
There's a button along the top with dashed lines--that's it. Just select, click, drag.

You do have the Studio software, right? Not the old Craft ROBO? I find Studio super easy to use, just look at the buttons and you'll generally find what you want, if that fails, check the menus. But I've heard the Craft ROBO is difficult.


Uploaded with iPhone client

Sewgaby
Yup...I'm still here

PeaNut 25,931
December 2001
Posts: 5,966
Layouts: 227
Loc: San Diego, CA

Posted: 1/29/2012 9:46:46 AM
The book that comes with the Cameo doesn't give a whole lot of help. But, if you use the "Help" button when you are in the Studio software you get another book that has more detailed help. It does mention perforated lines a few times.

But, here is how you do it.

When you make a shape, for example a square the software will automatically make it a straight forward cut line. You can see that when you go up to the cut style window (the little scissors). You can change the cut line right here to perforate, or no cut.

But lets say you want to cut a card shape with a perforated line in the middle. That's easy. Just make your card shape. Then go ahead and select the line shape and make a line in the middle of your card.

Right now both the card shape and the line are two ungrouped shapes. So you can give them both separate properties. Go up the cut style window (the scissors) and you'll see they BOTH have the solid red line. Select the line, and change it to perforate.

Now you can group them together if you wish.

You can also change the properties of the lines using the Line Styles Options button. Its the button of black lines next to the Cut Style Window. This button gives you more options for the perforated lines.

EDITED: I forgot to add this really important thing if you are going to be using perforated lines using the Cut Style Window.

If you change the properties from the solid line to perforated lines. Everything you create from that point forward will be created using perforated lines.

So, you need to remember to change it back to solid lines. Or else on your next project or shape you create it will end up perforated. So, remember to change it back!



Irma


Nikon D300, 50mm 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 24-70
105mm 1.2, 80-200 2.8,28-105mm/3.5-4.5,
SB-800

Pesto126
PeaNut

PeaNut 112,495
October 2003
Posts: 284
Layouts: 0
Loc: Earth

Posted: 1/29/2012 10:01:38 AM
Thx Gaby - I'm not really sure I want the perferated lines either though.. I really just want "fold or score lines" so that when it is done printing, the user can just fold up the item like the boxes that are for sale in the store - will the perf line tool give me those score /fold lines? Thx again!!



powderhorngreen
PeaNut

PeaNut 333,171
August 2007
Posts: 499
Layouts: 3
Loc: In my world and loving it.

Posted: 1/29/2012 10:29:52 AM
I have done this by running the project through the cutting machine twice. First, you will need to group all the cut lines into one group and the "fold" lines into another group. I make all my cut lines red in color and all my fold lines a different color, usually blue. THen, when you bring up the file, delete the blue lines and make your regular cuts (the red lines). Then, do NOT remove the mat from the cameo. Then close the file without saving changes and reopen it and this time remove the red line group. This will leave the blue lines you want as folds. Now, reduce the depth of your blade cutting to 1 and process as a cut. This give you a very shallow cut that you can fold on. Hope this makes sense. I have done this with heavy cardstock and it works great.

VexedAngel
Cold Pea on a Cracked Plate

PeaNut 156,343
July 2004
Posts: 5,250
Layouts: 46

Posted: 1/29/2012 10:40:07 AM
I also forgot, you can make any line turn into the perforated lines--or vice versa, so it is easy to change it back if you forget to change it before you leave the Line Style window--just select the line you'd like to change, then click on the line style you'd like to change it to.

And you can select how 'fine' you'd like it, little mini perforations... As far ASI know, there is not a way to just make a score line, like a crease. But the mini perforated line works great for that.


Uploaded with iPhone client

Sewgaby
Yup...I'm still here

PeaNut 25,931
December 2001
Posts: 5,966
Layouts: 227
Loc: San Diego, CA

Posted: 1/29/2012 10:43:17 AM
Pesto, the boxes in the Silhouette store use perforated lines, not score lines. Try it out and see what you think.

The only way to make score lines is to do it like powderhorngreen does it and run it through twice. But, that seems like a lot of trouble to me.

I just use perforated lines and it does the trick.


Irma


Nikon D300, 50mm 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 24-70
105mm 1.2, 80-200 2.8,28-105mm/3.5-4.5,
SB-800

Pesto126
PeaNut

PeaNut 112,495
October 2003
Posts: 284
Layouts: 0
Loc: Earth

Posted: 1/29/2012 12:29:12 PM
Thanks Ladies....!! Will give it a shot and see how it works.. Cheers!


Show/Hide Icons . Show/Hide Signatures
Hide
{{ title }}
{{ icon }}
{{ body }}
{{ footer }}