Can I put a frozen roast in the crockpot?

Two Peas is Closing
Click here to visit our final product sale. Click here to visit our FAQ page regarding the closing of Two Peas.

Posted 4/10/2012 by Just T in NSBR Board
 

Just T
I need therapea!

PeaNut 65,272
January 2003
Posts: 14,346
Layouts: 0
Loc: In my own little world

Posted: 4/10/2012 9:28:20 AM
I often put frozen chicken in it, but never a roast. Yesterday, I bought a roast, and when I got home from the grocery store, I handed it my son and asked him if he would put it in our extra fridge that is in the basement. Well, I discovered this morning that he put it in the freezer. UGH. He knew I was planning to cook it today because HE is the one who asked me to. LOL


3kidmama
Ancient Ancestor of Pea

PeaNut 268,201
July 2006
Posts: 5,579
Layouts: 8
Loc: Northwoods

Posted: 4/10/2012 9:30:11 AM
I do it all the time, no problems. If it's large, I will often cook on "high" rather than just low.

Just T
I need therapea!

PeaNut 65,272
January 2003
Posts: 14,346
Layouts: 0
Loc: In my own little world

Posted: 4/10/2012 9:32:28 AM
Thank you!

luvmythree
StuckOnPeas

PeaNut 223,222
September 2005
Posts: 2,894
Layouts: 47
Loc: Kansas

Posted: 4/10/2012 9:32:28 AM
You can indeed. I prefer to thaw it some then brown both sides makes it sooooo tender!


Kirsten mom to~
Alexandria 20
Ethan 10
Owen 8 CFC syndrome,cp 29.5 wk preemie
Expecting my first grandbaby May 2013!
Uploaded with iPhone client

Just T
I need therapea!

PeaNut 65,272
January 2003
Posts: 14,346
Layouts: 0
Loc: In my own little world

Posted: 4/10/2012 9:38:21 AM

I prefer to thaw it some then brown both sides makes it sooooo tender!


That is what I normally do, too. That's why I wasn't sure if I should put it in frozen. I have done frozen chicken breasts, but never a big chunk of meat.

It's in the crockpot now.

Regina Phalange
PeaFixture

PeaNut 369,340
March 2008
Posts: 3,335
Layouts: 0
Loc: Steeler Country!

Posted: 4/10/2012 10:31:36 AM
Trust me, if you cook it low and slow, it'll be tender no matter what.


**Julie**






"I've learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel." - Maya Angelou


Scrapperfriend
PeaAddict

PeaNut 168,158
September 2004
Posts: 1,050
Layouts: 4
Loc: Washington State

Posted: 4/14/2012 10:40:54 PM
Just did it last week, was very nice.




luvmythree
StuckOnPeas

PeaNut 223,222
September 2005
Posts: 2,894
Layouts: 47
Loc: Kansas

Posted: 4/15/2012 3:11:39 AM
How did it come out?


Kirsten mom to~
Alexandria 20
Ethan 10
Owen 8 CFC syndrome,cp 29.5 wk preemie
Expecting my first grandbaby May 2013!
Uploaded with iPhone client

gavinsmom
Ancient Ancestor of Pea

PeaNut 9,019
January 2001
Posts: 5,673
Layouts: 22
Loc: michigan

Posted: 4/15/2012 7:50:03 AM
I don't EVER put frozen meat in the crockpot. It stays at an 'unsafe' temperature WAY to long and gives bacteria too much time to do their thing.


Nicole

GIPfunny

PeaNut 147,074
May 2004
Posts: 25,947
Layouts: 521

Posted: 4/15/2012 8:10:05 AM

I don't EVER put frozen meat in the crockpot. It stays at an 'unsafe' temperature WAY to long and gives bacteria too much time to do their thing.


It wasn't until recently I heard not to put frozen meat in the crockpot. I have done it for years and have never had any issues.

lovetodigi
Ancient Ancestor of Pea

PeaNut 257,022
April 2006
Posts: 8,640
Layouts: 5
Loc: USA

Posted: 4/15/2012 9:10:22 AM
I do it all of the time and never had a problem with anyone getting sick from eating it. Crockpots today cook at a higher temperature that the older ones used to do. As a matter of fact, I prefer to use frozen meat sometimes to help keep it from overcooking and drying out before it is time to eat.




Sony a77
Sony 18-70mm F3.5/5.6, Sony 75-300mm f/4.5-5.6,
Sony 50mm 1.8, Sony DT 35mm f/1.8 SAM
Tamron SP 90mm f/2.8 Di 1:1 AF Macro AF
Tamron 18-270mm F/3.5-6.3 AF Zoom with Macro
MacBook Pro 15" (Mid 2012)
Photoshop CS6 & PSE 11
Lightroom 4

S_cR_aP_Booker
PeaAddict

PeaNut 400,592
November 2008
Posts: 1,586
Layouts: 0
Loc: Mississippi

Posted: 4/15/2012 9:32:36 AM
I have done it for years. I have never had a problem with anyone getting sick. As high as my crockpot cooks, it actually keeps it from over cooking the meat.

As for tenderness, I have learned that the slower and longer you cook it the more tender it is

Just T
I need therapea!

PeaNut 65,272
January 2003
Posts: 14,346
Layouts: 0
Loc: In my own little world

Posted: 4/15/2012 9:53:40 AM
It turned out great.


Crockpots today cook at a higher temperature that the older ones used to do. As a matter of fact, I prefer to use frozen meat sometimes to help keep it from overcooking and drying out before it is time to eat.


that is my biggest pet peeve with crock pots these days. I rarely am able to put something in and go to work because whenever I do, I come home to dried out food, sauces burnt to the pot, etc. It seems like 6 hours is the limit on most things, and that sort of defeats the purpose of a crock pot in my opinion.

ChristieMc
PeaNut

PeaNut 541,243
February 2012
Posts: 438
Layouts: 0

Posted: 4/15/2012 9:56:55 AM
I have been having trouble with things getting done too quickly and drying out. I never thought of putting frozen meat in. Thanks for the tip!


Christie

amom23
Ancient Ancestor of Pea

PeaNut 108,542
September 2003
Posts: 7,155
Layouts: 0
Loc: ND

Posted: 4/15/2012 10:32:23 AM
If I didn't use frozen meat I'd never use my crockpot because lord knows I never remember to thaw anything first.

I love being able to throw it all together and let it cook on low all day. Isn't that the point anyways? Nobody has ever gotten sick at our house.


_________________________________________________

"When was the last time you did something for the 1st time?"

mamastew
StuckOnPeas

PeaNut 190,156
February 2005
Posts: 2,432
Layouts: 14
Loc: DFW, Texas

Posted: 4/15/2012 11:09:15 AM
I have done this for years. Turns out awesome!

Idahopea
AncestralPea

PeaNut 118,464
December 2003
Posts: 4,266
Layouts: 0
Loc: Idaho

Posted: 4/15/2012 12:12:44 PM
Make sure you don't start to heat the crockpot before you put anything frozen in it. I had some leftover frozen beef stew I wanted to put in there to defrost/cook and I turned the crockpot on for a few minutes before I put the frozen food in and it CRACKED the crock the second the frozen food hit the hot crock. Luckily I heard it and removed it right away or it would have made a huge mess if I had left it on all day.

scrapsuzy
ScraPEA Suzy the Purr-ple Pea

PeaNut 67,643
February 2003
Posts: 16,809
Layouts: 80
Loc: Peachtree City, GA

Posted: 4/15/2012 11:54:11 PM
So how long do y'all cook it when you put it in frozen? I'd like to try it.


*******
Suzanne





MerryMom937
PeaFixture

PeaNut 472,567
June 2010
Posts: 3,775
Layouts: 0

Posted: 4/16/2012 9:19:20 AM
I personally would not do it because the longer amount of time that your chicken or roast is at an "unsafe" temperature.

MotherofJackals
Turning holy water into wine

PeaNut 27,168
January 2002
Posts: 22,427
Layouts: 27
Loc: Hanging out by the state line

Posted: 4/16/2012 9:27:50 AM
I think the "official" party line from people who do things buy the book is no. Using frozen meat in a crock pot is just a case of food poisoning waiting to happen, you could die, it will make you ill, make sure you wear clean underwear in case you get in an accident...blah..blah..blah.

I have done it for years and never had an issue. Maybe I'm just lucky, maybe I suck so bad at cooking my family has developed iron stomachs so a little ptomaine is like salt around here. I don't know.



strawberryfairy
Mama to two PEAS

PeaNut 38,537
May 2002
Posts: 9,669
Layouts: 76
Loc: The Aloha State

Posted: 4/17/2012 4:10:05 PM
Do you season the roast the same way you would as if it were thawed? I'm just wondering if the seasonings stick to the meat when it's frozen?



oh yvonne
Pea-rom Queen

PeaNut 15,036
May 2001
Posts: 18,078
Layouts: 77
Loc: Thousand Oaks, So Cal

Posted: 4/17/2012 4:13:06 PM
Wait. What??! I didn't know you could put the meat in still frozen! Are you kidding?

Wow, this is like, life changing for me.

I never, ever remember to take the roast out to defrost before hand. Wow. And you just put the whole big piece of meat in there, no cutting up to make smaller, nothing? Just frozen like a rock?

And yeah, how to you get the seasonings to stick if it's frozen? Should you be using a recipe that calls for liquids like soup, etc? Does the defrosting meat make the dish too watery?

Questions, lots of questions...


******************
Yvonne, lover of old garden roses, my DH Enrique, Marissa and Dahlia Lynn!

"what is yvoone class prom queen or something of pea high? Thats gotta be the big joke here under the bleechers."
~the "great" pea~pea


Sparki
PeaAddict

PeaNut 217,057
August 2005
Posts: 1,475
Layouts: 5
Loc: Northern New Mexico

Posted: 4/17/2012 5:27:40 PM
I put a package of frozen pork in the crock pot yesterday for bbq. I do it all the time - roasts, you name it. No problems here.


Show/Hide Icons . Show/Hide Signatures
Hide
{{ title }}
{{ icon }}
{{ body }}
{{ footer }}