HE washer leaving white residue on dark clothes...
Post ReplyPost New TopicPosted 7/15/2012 by TankTop in NSBR Board
 

TankTop
I teach, therefore I am a teacher

PeaNut 25,495
December 2001
Posts: 9,426
Layouts: 37
Loc: Stuck in the 80's

Posted: 7/15/2012 2:21:46 PM
We have had a top loading HE washer for about a year now. Just recently my dark clothes have had a white residue on them. It is not lint. It is hard to get off even when wiping vigorously with a washcloth.

No new detergents
No new softener...we use white vinegar
Not coming from the dryer

Any ideas?

I did run the "clean machine" cycle today for the first time. We will see if that helps.


"Childhood is what you spend the rest of your life trying to overcome." Hope Floats


revirdsuba
Wise~old Pea

PeaNut 17,460
June 2001
Posts: 23,008
Layouts: 94
Loc: Central NJ

Posted: 7/15/2012 4:20:19 PM
BTT...Wish I knew too......

styxgirl
PeaFixture

PeaNut 183,117
January 2005
Posts: 3,723
Layouts: 24
Loc: Middle of the USA

Posted: 7/15/2012 4:22:14 PM
Could it be because it is too full and clothes aren't tumbling properly? Seems like I have had that happen before ...


Nicole

mabel
BucketHead

PeaNut 27,880
January 2002
Posts: 847
Layouts: 22
Loc: Virginia

Posted: 7/15/2012 4:27:39 PM
If you use powder try to use liquid


Caroline



Be yourself; everyone else is already taken.













TankTop
I teach, therefore I am a teacher

PeaNut 25,495
December 2001
Posts: 9,426
Layouts: 37
Loc: Stuck in the 80's

Posted: 7/15/2012 4:27:43 PM
I dont think it is a load size issue. It happens with small and large loads.


"Childhood is what you spend the rest of your life trying to overcome." Hope Floats


TankTop
I teach, therefore I am a teacher

PeaNut 25,495
December 2001
Posts: 9,426
Layouts: 37
Loc: Stuck in the 80's

Posted: 7/15/2012 4:28:36 PM
We use liquid.


"Childhood is what you spend the rest of your life trying to overcome." Hope Floats


TXDancermom
AncestralPea

PeaNut 146,748
May 2004
Posts: 4,229
Layouts: 1

Posted: 7/15/2012 4:51:29 PM
soap residue built up somewhere?

don't know, it has never happened to me

Momof1sweet-lil-lad
& the Velcro dog

PeaNut 133,429
February 2004
Posts: 9,885
Layouts: 0
Loc: Somewhere over the Judgy-pants Rainbow

Posted: 7/15/2012 4:54:40 PM
Depending on how long you've had this machine, I would try running 1 or 2 cleanning cycles with LimeAway. It does really well in taking off the build up inside the drum.

I usually follow it up with a cleanning cycle using bleach.





The difference between genius and stupidity is genius has its limits. ~Albert Einstein

kimberly38
Ancient Ancestor of Pea

PeaNut 198,401
March 2005
Posts: 6,712
Layouts: 0
Loc: Wernersville, PA

Posted: 7/15/2012 5:58:12 PM
Also, sometimes it helps to switch between powder and liquid detergent(s). If you use one all the time, it can build up in your machine.

Also, I always dilute my liquid detergent with water. I never use full strength, even if it states HE. They are so full of chemicals, you never need to use what it says on the cup line.

TankTop
I teach, therefore I am a teacher

PeaNut 25,495
December 2001
Posts: 9,426
Layouts: 37
Loc: Stuck in the 80's

Posted: 7/15/2012 6:06:08 PM
What ratio do you dilute it to?


"Childhood is what you spend the rest of your life trying to overcome." Hope Floats


PEArfect
Ancient Ancestor of Pea

PeaNut 452,048
January 2010
Posts: 5,947
Layouts: 9
Loc: Indiana

Posted: 7/15/2012 7:07:46 PM
My first thought was to much detergent.


Jen


angelag
the most ransorish pea evah

PeaNut 91,412
June 2003
Posts: 20,628
Layouts: 120
Loc: Milwaukee!!

Posted: 7/16/2012 6:27:24 AM
On a front loader you're supposed to run the basket clean cycle like once a month with a product made specifically for cleaning it (this is according to my manual, ymmv).

Since yours is a top loader maybe you don't need to do that but...

If you have hard water I think you might have some build up in there.
If running the clean cycle didn't help, I would buy a product specifically for cleaning the basket and run a few cycles of it and see if that helps.






AKathy
Peaing From Podunk

PeaNut 45,443
August 2002
Posts: 16,182
Layouts: 93
Loc: North Dakota

Posted: 7/16/2012 6:40:54 AM
I have a top loader and the booklet says to run a clean cycle using a Tide product made for that purpose. My washer has a light that comes on when it's time to do that. If yours doesn't have the light I would run the cleaning cycle once a month or so.

Tide also makes a product to use on dark colors. I've never used it but my girlfriend swears by it.


***************************************


Mother Goose's Meandering Mind



sharonoz
BucketHead

PeaNut 340,861
October 2007
Posts: 555
Layouts: 1
Loc: in a land downunder

Posted: 7/16/2012 7:21:06 AM
I don't know if you have the Simpson brand washers over there? I bought an HE one a couple of years ago. I had that white residue from the very beginning. I was researching another appliance online when I came across a forum with tons of people complaining about the same thing. I called the company and they replaced it with a non-HE model. They know that top-loading HE washers don't work
Post Reply . Post New TopicShow/Hide Icons . Show/Hide Signatures
Hide
{{ title }}
{{ icon }}
{{ body }}
{{ footer }}