Cricut Elegant Edges Question
Post ReplyPost New TopicPosted 10/6/2012 by tewzers2 in General Scrappin'
 

tewzers2
PeaAddict

PeaNut 16,204
June 2001
Posts: 1,040
Layouts: 3

Posted: 10/6/2012 8:21:17 PM
So what's the secret to cutting a border with the Elegant Edges cartridge? I want a 12" border but I keep getting a message that says there's not enough room. How do you cut a border?


Jeannie


kstpeter
Will I ever get to Buckethead?!

PeaNut 501,708
March 2011
Posts: 439
Layouts: 0
Loc: New Hampshire

Posted: 10/6/2012 8:35:53 PM
I'm not an expert, but I think the largedt you can cut is 11.5 or so?


- Tina


tewzers2
PeaAddict

PeaNut 16,204
June 2001
Posts: 1,040
Layouts: 3

Posted: 10/6/2012 8:38:44 PM
I've tried dialing down the size but can't even seem to cut st around 9".


Jeannie


ca angel
StuckOnPeas

PeaNut 400,602
November 2008
Posts: 2,381
Layouts: 36
Loc: So Cal

Posted: 10/6/2012 8:46:21 PM
You have to cut multiple smaller boarders and glue them together. If you have a gypsy or using ccr you can weld together multiple copies of the same shape to get what you want. To get 12x12 you need to put it on the diangle with one of those programs. The machines will only cut a 11.5 square.
Ca angel

LaughingandScrapping
Just one more post!

PeaNut 542,988
February 2012
Posts: 47
Layouts: 0
Loc: Montana

Posted: 10/7/2012 1:00:00 AM
Hi - If you have the E2 you can go in and change your mat size to 12x24, even when you are cutting with a 12x12 mat. This method "tricks" the machine and you can get a 12" long border on a 12x12 mat.

Otherwise, what the other posters said is the only way that I know to make it work.

pcarr
StuckOnPeas

PeaNut 88,155
May 2003
Posts: 2,133
Layouts: 173
Loc: Australia

Posted: 10/7/2012 7:32:23 AM
this is something i have also had issues with,thanks for the tips, i will be trying them for sure


tewzers2
PeaAddict

PeaNut 16,204
June 2001
Posts: 1,040
Layouts: 3

Posted: 10/7/2012 8:37:04 AM
Thanks everyone! I have Make The Cut (prelawsuit) but our computer is in our living room and I scrap in our bedroom. Although I have my Cricut on a rolling cart, it's a pain to drag it in the living room and set it up. Guess I'll be making smaller borders and piecing them together for now.


Jeannie


Gem Girl
PeaAddict

PeaNut 460,363
March 2010
Posts: 1,476
Layouts: 7
Loc: Lost in thought

Posted: 10/7/2012 12:02:00 PM
Maybe a more knowledgeable Pea will chime in here (or test it yourself on scrap paper), but I believe that the measurement with a Cricut is height of the object, so you don't want a 12" of the border (even if it would fit). It'll cut a segment of border regardless that you'll have to piece together to make a 12", at the height you specify. Try putting in 1-1/2", for example, & cut quantity 2.... Good luck!


----------------------------------------------------------------------
I've been a dilettante, but I'm thinking of dabbling in something else.















tewzers2
PeaAddict

PeaNut 16,204
June 2001
Posts: 1,040
Layouts: 3

Posted: 10/7/2012 12:48:31 PM
You know, Gem Girl, you're right. I wasn't thinking of that!


Jeannie


GAKropper
Half Way There!

PeaNut 273,062
August 2006
Posts: 287
Layouts: 0
Loc: Georgia

Posted: 10/8/2012 9:49:24 AM
That is one of the cartridges that I have but have never used, but on the other cartridges you can use the fit to length option if you have an Expression. Like someone else said though it will still only cut 11.5. Maybe this question will inspire me to actually use the cartridge.

kariforrest
PeaWee

PeaNut 556,786
June 2012
Posts: 4
Layouts: 0

Posted: 10/30/2012 8:36:32 PM
So, when I get my replacement Expression 2 for the one that didn't work , would I need a 12x24 mat to do a 12" border. And do I also need to use the Fit to Length function?

Last but final question - for the E2, can I do a 12" border without is scaling it to be almost 2" wide. ex: if I wanted to do a 1" border that's 12" long, is that possible.

Thanks!

ca angel
StuckOnPeas

PeaNut 400,602
November 2008
Posts: 2,381
Layouts: 36
Loc: So Cal

Posted: 10/30/2012 9:13:51 PM
If you want to do the scaled down version you will either have to weld the pieces with a g or ccr (assuming that the e2 doesn't weld) or cut individual pieces at the height you want and glue them together to be 12 inches.

If you use a g or ccr you can cut a 12inch boarder by placing it on the diagonal.

For all boaders on Cricut carts they will only cut what is shown. Meaning if it is a scalloped boarder with 5 scallops no matter how big or small you make the image there will only be 5 scallops. To get more you would need to weld images together.
Hope that helps.
Ca angel
Post Reply . Post New TopicShow/Hide Icons . Show/Hide Signatures
Hide
{{ title }}
{{ icon }}
{{ body }}
{{ footer }}