Gypsy owners who bought the CTMH Artiste cart

Two Peas is Closing
Click here to visit our final product sale. Click here to visit our FAQ page regarding the closing of Two Peas.

Posted 10/10/2012 by Scrapn Nana in General Scrappin'
 

Scrapn Nana
PEAring through my camera lens

PeaNut 272,954
August 2006
Posts: 8,491
Layouts: 26

Posted: 10/10/2012 9:34:11 PM
Have you updated your Gypsy so you can use the Artiste cartridge with it, and did you have any problems with the update? I have read so many people complaining about their
Gypsy dying after updating that I'm hesitant to update. But I'd really like to load the Artiste cartridge onto my Gypsy, so if others have done this without problems, then I'll do the update. I just want to be sure.

Thanks!


My Scrapn' Blog

Photographers are violent people. First they frame you, then they shoot you, then they hang you on the wall; but if you're real good, they will scrapbook you!

Tricia2354
BucketHead

PeaNut 487,093
November 2010
Posts: 848
Layouts: 11
Loc: Evansville, wi

Posted: 10/10/2012 10:14:48 PM
I didn't have any problems getting the update to work.


Tricia @ http://craftingthedayawayy.blogspot.com/
Crafting the day away

Uploaded with iPhone client

Live2scrap73
PeaNut

PeaNut 104,805
September 2003
Posts: 132
Layouts: 0

Posted: 10/10/2012 11:16:35 PM
I updated without a problem but can't get this cartridge to work with the gypsy and the imagine. It's the only cartridge I've had a problem with.
Uploaded with iPhone client

Princess Hess
PeaNut

PeaNut 223,537
September 2005
Posts: 219
Layouts: 1
Loc: in God's County...Texas of course

Posted: 10/11/2012 12:28:05 AM
I am updating mine now, as I post for the exact same reason. It has been updating for a couple of hours which is stressing me out. Not sure if it should be taking this
long!!!!!




Brenda....wife of a Harley Man....and Mommy to 2 Angels
.....I Serve an AWESOME God...
Uploaded with iPhone client

ccookwood
PeaAddict

PeaNut 26,292
December 2001
Posts: 1,065
Layouts: 1

Posted: 10/11/2012 6:19:33 AM
Just remember that when your updating don't be doing anything else on the computer. I was surfing while I was updating which then caused the blue screen of death. After a call to PC and an hour on the phone my gypsy is back to normal. So do nothing but update the gypsy.

Carrie


Karenm
BucketHead

PeaNut 2,412
January 2000
Posts: 686
Layouts: 0
Loc: East Tennessee

Posted: 10/11/2012 8:30:01 AM
I updated with no problem. Haven't added the cart yet but my upline did and her Gypsy is working fine.


Karen (who finally gets to scrap again)

Sophikins
StuckOnPeas

PeaNut 62,725
January 2003
Posts: 2,143
Layouts: 71
Loc: Pacific NW

Posted: 10/11/2012 9:18:03 AM
Before this, the last time I updated was when I got the Art Philosophy cart a year ago. I was hesitant, but I REALLY wanted to use my Gypsy with the Artiste. So I finally did the update a a couple weeks ago. Here are the results:

My Cricut Sync is 2.1.18
My Gypsy firmware is 0210
My Gypsy Content is 0246

I did NOT update my Cricut, which is 2.34 because I did not want to take a chance of losing the ability to cut with SCAL (since PC apparently disabled this feature on the newer machines)

My Gypsy works with the Artiste cart just fine and no problem cutting. The only other cart I've tried is the Art Philosophy and that too works just fine on my Gypsy and Cricut. AND my SCAL program is also still working just fine with my Cricut.

So no problems here with updating the Gypsy.

I hear there is newer firmware for the Cricut, I believe 2.43 to use with CCR, but I have NOT updated to that. From what I hear PC STILL has not enabled you to use a cart with CCR if it has been linked with your Gypsy, unless you plug the cart into your Cricut as it is cutting. So that defeats some of the purpose of using CCR. I'd rather use my Gypsy.


M

scorpiobaby
PeaNut

PeaNut 430,174
July 2009
Posts: 229
Layouts: 3
Loc: Ontario, Canada

Posted: 10/11/2012 10:10:04 AM
There were no problems or concerns during or after updating my Gypsy.

Princess Hess
PeaNut

PeaNut 223,537
September 2005
Posts: 219
Layouts: 1
Loc: in God's County...Texas of course

Posted: 10/11/2012 12:02:50 PM
I updated and it still says I can't link my cartridge.

Just got off the phone with Provocraft and they said they haven't received the information to allow it to be linked to any gypsy 's yet?? I am so confused!!




Brenda....wife of a Harley Man....and Mommy to 2 Angels
.....I Serve an AWESOME God...
Uploaded with iPhone client

slyn11
AncestralPea

PeaNut 190,252
February 2005
Posts: 4,343
Layouts: 133
Loc: New Jersey

Posted: 10/11/2012 3:15:35 PM
Has it been working with Cricut Craftroom? I am trying to remind myself to link it to craftroom and then to my Gypsy so I can use it both places. I have yet to do it though.
Show/Hide Icons . Show/Hide Signatures
Hide
{{ title }}
{{ icon }}
{{ body }}
{{ footer }}