Dupes When Copying Photos to Files

Two Peas is Closing
Click here to visit our final product sale. Click here to visit our FAQ page regarding the closing of Two Peas.

Posted 11/12/2012 by Paisleys Garden in General Scrappin'
 

Paisleys Garden
StuckOnPeas

PeaNut 464,263
April 2010
Posts: 2,872
Layouts: 8
Loc: MinneSNOWta

Posted: 11/12/2012 2:58:49 PM
Why do I get so many duplicates when copying photos to files or moving them around?

I don't get it. I'm careful to click through slowly but I end up with dupes every time. How do you select without getting duplicates?

tiffanyo
PeaAddict

PeaNut 556,456
June 2012
Posts: 1,015
Layouts: 2

Posted: 11/12/2012 6:18:20 PM
It is hard to say without watching what you are doing. I am guessing that you are using Ctrl and then clicking each photo to select them. If you hold Ctrl and drag the file it makes a copy. Sometimes I accidentally drag instead of just clicking and I get copies. I think Ctrl+z will undo the copy if you notice it right away but I am on my phone so I can't check!
Uploaded with iPhone client

chrispeas
Ancient Ancestor of Pea

PeaNut 252,090
March 2006
Posts: 9,422
Layouts: 8
Loc: Beautiful South Orange County, CA

Posted: 11/12/2012 6:44:20 PM
From your camera card to the computer?

Paisleys Garden
StuckOnPeas

PeaNut 464,263
April 2010
Posts: 2,872
Layouts: 8
Loc: MinneSNOWta

Posted: 11/15/2012 12:34:39 PM

Sometimes I accidentally drag instead of just clicking and I get copies.


Yep, Ctrl click. I bet I drag it slightly when I am clicking on them. Thank you!

Madeline
Jeepers PEApers

PeaNut 54,155
October 2002
Posts: 2,628
Layouts: 465
Loc: River Ridge, Louisiana

Posted: 11/15/2012 12:42:38 PM
Hahahaha...I do that too. And then I have MORE work to do to delete all the extras, aside from what I was originally intending to do. What's the saying...Haste makes waste.

Scrapmom-of-2
StuckOnPeas

PeaNut 121,146
December 2003
Posts: 2,399
Layouts: 0
Loc: Illinois

Posted: 11/15/2012 4:19:34 PM
I thought you were supposed to highlight the picture, click shift and continue highlighting all the pics you want to move...then no copies. At least I think that's how I do it. When I was using control, I'd get copies too.

tiffanyo
PeaAddict

PeaNut 556,456
June 2012
Posts: 1,015
Layouts: 2

Posted: 11/15/2012 4:30:02 PM
If you use shift, it selects every picture between the two. If you want more control... You have to use ctrl. That pun was unintentional but I realized it as I was typing.
It definitely works as long as you click and do not drag. Undo (ctrl+z) will undo the copying if you do it right away.
Uploaded with iPhone client
Show/Hide Icons . Show/Hide Signatures
Hide
{{ title }}
{{ icon }}
{{ body }}
{{ footer }}