Transfer Photos - Software
Post ReplyPost New TopicPosted 1/12/2013 by mford12 in General Photography
 

mford12
Baby Pea Step

PeaNut 541,143
January 2012
Posts: 1
Layouts: 0

Posted: 1/12/2013 11:20:10 AM
Hello, I have a silly question. I have a Nikon coolpix camera. It came with software. I already have Photoshop Elements. Is it better to transfer photos with Photoshop Elements or with the software that came with the camera? I appreciate your input. Thank you in advance! Michele

lbfritts
Can you hear me now???

PeaNut 26,273
December 2001
Posts: 7,820
Layouts: 180
Loc: North Carolina

Posted: 1/12/2013 11:36:12 AM
I dunno if there is a better way - but I use Elements - I have 3 cameras I download from so using the same software for all makes sense. Windows also has a decent downloading function built in.

I personally don't use any of the software that comes with my camera - not with elements already in use.

HTH



voltagain
OklaPhoma

PeaNut 18,334
July 2001
Posts: 37,605
Layouts: 15
Loc: State of cultural confusion. Yeehaw and Aloha have collided!

Posted: 1/12/2013 11:56:29 AM
I'd use what ever program works for you. To me using the camera software just adds extra steps to the whole process. If transferring via Elements is working for you then that is your best way.

The camera software, imo, is more for people who have no other options. By coming with the camera it is ensured they can enjoy the benefits of owning a digital camera from its first use instead of discovering they need to immediately invest in software.


What Your Kit Lens Can Do For You

Canon 60d, Canon 24-70mm 2.8L, Canon 70-200mm 2.8L, 50mm 1.8, 28-80, 75-300mm and Tamron 90mm 2.8 macro

uniquelycat
PeaNut

PeaNut 389,714
August 2008
Posts: 170
Layouts: 5
Loc: Northwest PA

Posted: 1/17/2013 10:00:31 PM
I import using Canon's software Zoombrowser because I like the file naming I can do and that I can bring in my raw files. For file cataloging I add them to Lightroom which I also would not do without in my process.

Use whatever workflow works for you ... That is, does what you feel should be getting done. Each person is comfortable with different solutions. Once you find one that works go with it and look for new solutions as your needs change. However, using something like Lightroom also helps if you need to change some of your steps and keep some of your old. It is difficult to move between cataloging software so always be aware of the future and that you want to start building towards a solid workflow.


Cathy A Smith (uniquelycat) Photo Creations

Canon 40D
Canon Digital Rebel XT
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8
Tamron SP AF Aspherical XR Di LD IF 28-75mm Macro f/2.8
Canon EFS 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6
Canon EFS 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS
Canon EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6
Canon Speedlite 430EX

Sony Alpha NEX-F3 Mirrorless
Sony Alpha NEX-6 Mirrorless
Sony 50mm f/1.8
Sony 20mm f/2.8
Sony 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6
Sony 55-210mm f/4.5-6.3

JVC Everio GZ MG 330 30GB Hard Dive camcorder
I Pad 3

memories5
PeaAddict

PeaNut 272,462
August 2006
Posts: 1,990
Layouts: 348
Loc: Indiana

Posted: 1/23/2013 9:38:43 AM
Very good post.. I read all the info just incase there was something I needed..lol
I have never used my camera software.. I am a Photoshop girl 100%.. I ahve really been thinking of attending the photoshop world in Orlando Fla


Jennifer~
I think a photography class should be a requirement in all educational programs because it makes you see the world rather than just look at it.

KrisztinaK
StuckOnPeas

PeaNut 65,138
January 2003
Posts: 2,434
Layouts: 136
Loc: New York City

Posted: 1/23/2013 9:56:54 AM
I don't even use software to import my files. I used to but now I just pop my memory card in the reader and manually copy the files over.



HHCC always welcome & appreciated !!

Canon 60D ... 30D & XT ... 24-105L f/4 IS ... 50mm f/1.8 ... 430EX ... Pocket Wizards ... PSCS6 & LR4

brab74
AncestralPea

PeaNut 455,916
February 2010
Posts: 4,280
Layouts: 15
Loc: Central Illinois

Posted: 1/23/2013 11:15:07 AM

I don't even use software to import my files. I used to but now I just pop my memory card in the reader and manually copy the files over.
I do the same thing.
Post Reply . Post New TopicShow/Hide Icons . Show/Hide Signatures
Hide
{{ title }}
{{ icon }}
{{ body }}
{{ footer }}