What backup utility do you use to backup to an external harddrive?

Two Peas is Closing
Click here to visit our final product sale. Click here to visit our FAQ page regarding the closing of Two Peas.

Posted 1/18/2013 by melonhead in General Scrappin'
 

melonhead
BucketHead

PeaNut 224,298
September 2005
Posts: 997
Layouts: 35
Loc: Florida

Posted: 1/18/2013 1:33:05 PM
Or do you just use Windows Explorer to copy?

TIA


"If you don't like your neck in photos, crop it out! Who needs to see all those chins anyway!"

Everyday Life in Florida

Ellen in sunny south Florida

melonhead
BucketHead

PeaNut 224,298
September 2005
Posts: 997
Layouts: 35
Loc: Florida

Posted: 1/18/2013 5:00:47 PM
You ARE backing up your files and pictures aren't you??


"If you don't like your neck in photos, crop it out! Who needs to see all those chins anyway!"

Everyday Life in Florida

Ellen in sunny south Florida

mpscraps
StuckOnPeas

PeaNut 52,226
October 2002
Posts: 2,436
Layouts: 1

Posted: 1/18/2013 5:07:18 PM
If I understand the question, then yes, I just open Windows Explorer and copy over to the external hard drive.

I'm in the middle of loading all my photos from CDs onto the external hard drive, as well. (Once upon a time, DH said that since we had an external HD, I didn't need to save onto disks anymore. Then the HD crashed and it was $1000 just to crack the case on it, so I'm missing part of 2004 and almost all of 2005. Ever since, I've gotten disks when I get my photos printed, and using the external hard drive as a back up to my back up disks.)

melonhead
BucketHead

PeaNut 224,298
September 2005
Posts: 997
Layouts: 35
Loc: Florida

Posted: 1/18/2013 6:00:17 PM
Up until now I've just copied over, but I've made a lot of duplicate pictures/files that way. I didn't realize how much I move stuff around and reorganize them.

I spent over an hour with a duplicate file finder this afternoon. I had about 250 duplicates.

How do you remember what you have already copied over? Backup programs will often let you do a large, full backup, and then do differential or incremental backups for the new stuff, saving time.

When I copied the whole pictures folder over, I got duplicates when I had changed or rearranged directories. I'm a mess.


"If you don't like your neck in photos, crop it out! Who needs to see all those chins anyway!"

Everyday Life in Florida

Ellen in sunny south Florida

Just Lizzy
Original Pea #5005

PeaNut 19,817
August 2001
Posts: 20,981
Layouts: 54
Loc: On the rocky shores of life... AKA Mid-Missouri

Posted: 1/18/2013 8:28:15 PM
I don't use a utility.. but I only back up images on my EHD. I use Carbonite to back up my pc, programs, files, etc.


Feeder of Denali, Dakota, Shadow & Kai

RnKMom
Prima 'n' Stickles Pea

PeaNut 80,424
April 2003
Posts: 9,176
Layouts: 30
Loc: Southern California

Posted: 1/18/2013 8:30:12 PM
I use Windows' own back up and restore program. It's under Control Panel.



~Patricia~
If I have to use all this paper before I die, I'll live forever!


Show/Hide Icons . Show/Hide Signatures
Hide
{{ title }}
{{ icon }}
{{ body }}
{{ footer }}